Young Adult - Music From The Motion Picture

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date

LOS ANGELES – Rhino will release YOUNG ADULT – MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE days before the film opens nationwide on December 16. Out December 6, the soundtrack will be available for download at all digital retailers for $9.99, and on CD at and select indie retail stores for a suggested list price of $13.98.

Presented by Paramount Pictures and Mandate Pictures, Young Adult reunites Jason Reitman, Academy Award®-nominated director of Juno, and Academy Award®-winning screenwriter, Diablo Cody. In fact, Rhino has released soundtracks for two other Reitman films, Up In The Air (2009) and Juno (2008), which won a Grammy Award®, was certified platinum and became the label’s first #1 album.

Academy Award®-winner Charlize Theron plays Mavis Gary, a writer of teen literature who returns to her small hometown to reclaim her happily married high school sweetheart (Patrick Wilson). When returning home proves more difficult than she thought, Mavis forms an unusual bond with a former classmate (Patton Oswalt), who hasn’t quite gotten over high school either.

Executive produced by Reitman, YOUNG ADULT – MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE features an eclectic mix of musical artists. It opens with Diana Ross singing about aging from a child’s perspective in “When We Grow Up,” a song the singer originally recorded for another soundtrack, 1972’s Free To Be…You And Me.

The rest of the album collects songs from some of the biggest names of the late ’80s and early ’90s alternative scene including The Replacements (“Achin’ To Be”); The Lemonheads (“It’s A Shame About Ray”); Veruca Salt (“Seether”); and Dinosaur Jr. (“Feel The Pain”). The collection also includes Teenage Fanclub’s “The Concept,” which provides the soundtrack to the opening credits of the film.

The album also features a composition by Rolfe Kent heard during the film and concludes with five minimalist instrumental versions of some of the biggest modern rocks songs from the ‘90s, reminiscent of those you might hear on an elevator ride. Performed by Mateo Messina, these instrumentals include Faith No More’s “Epic,” Pearl Jam’s “Even Flow,” Beck’s “Where It’s At,” Foo Fighters’ “Big Me” and Soundgarden’s “Black Hole Sun.”

Track Listing

1. “When We Grow Up” – Diana Ross
2. “What’s Up” – 4 Non Blondes
3. “Achin’ To Be” – The Replacements
4. “It’s A Shame About Ray” – The Lemonheads
5. “Seether” – Veruca Salt
6. “The Concept” – Teenage Fanclub
7. “Pledge Your Allegiance” – Suicidal Tendencies
8. “Feel The Pain” – Dinosaur Jr.
9. “Low” - Cracker
10. “Why Buddy?” – Rolfe Kent
11. “Epic” – Instrumental
12. “Even Flow” – Instrumental
13. “Where It’s At” – Instrumental
14. “Big Me” – Instrumental
15. “Black Hole Sun” – Instrumental

# # #