Whitesnake Slip Of The Tongue 30th Anniversary Editions Out October 4 From Rhino

Artist Name
Release Date


6CD/DVD Collection Includes A Newly Remastered Version Of The Top 10 Album, Expanded With Unreleased Studio Recordings, The Band’s 1990 Headlining Set At Castle Donington, Music Videos And A New Interview With David Coverdale

Four Different Versions Will Be Available From Rhino On October 4 

LOS ANGELES – Whitesnake scored the band’s third consecutive platinum record with its eighth studio album, Slip of the Tongue. Originally released in November 1989, it peaked at number 10 on the U.K. and U.S. album charts thanks largely to its two Top 40 hits – “Fool For Your Loving” and “The Deeper The Love.” The fan favorite turns 30 this year and Rhino is celebrating with several new versions, including a colossal seven-disc boxed set. 

SLIP OF THE TONGUE: 30th ANNIVERSARY EDITION will be available on October 4 for $74.98. The 6CD/DVD collection includes a newly remastered version of the album, plus unreleased studio recordings, audio and video of the band’s performance at the 1990 Monsters of Rock festival, and a new interview with Whitesnake founder and lead singer, David Coverdale. It comes in a 60-page hardbound book filled with rare memorabilia from the era. For a limited time, Rhino.com will offer the Super Deluxe 6CD/DVD edition, paired with a lithograph signed by David Coverdale for $84.98. 

Other versions of Slip of the Tongue will also be available the same day, including double-CD Deluxe Edition, which includes the newly remastered album expanded with a selection of rare and unreleased bonus tracks ($24.98) and a double-LP Deluxe Edition, which features the newly remastered album along with a selection of unique bonus tracks ($31.98). A single-disc version ($9.98) includes the newly remastered album, along with single B-Sides plus alternate recordings. The music will be available digitally as well. 

Following the 8x platinum success of their eponymous album in 1987, Whitesnake returned two years later with Slip of the Tongue. At the time, the band included Coverdale, bassist Rudy Sarzo, drummer Tommy Aldridge, and guitarists Adrian Vandenberg and Steve Vai. Vandenberg and Coverdale co-wrote all but one song on the album, but Vandenberg couldn’t record them in the studio at the time due to a hand injury. To fill the void, Vai joined the band for the album and tour. 

SLIP OF THE TONGUE: 30th ANNIVERSARY EDITION features unreleased versions of every album track, as well as monitor mixes for the album recorded in 1989. In addition, the collection includes nearly two dozen previously unreleased tracks taken from the session tapes that highlight working versions of album tracks and more. The set also includes the CD debut of Slip of the Tongue: The Wagging Tongue Edition. Released exclusively on vinyl in 1989, it features Coverdale being interviewed about each track followed by the song. 

SLIP OF THE TONGUE: 30th ANNIVERSARY EDITION finishes big with Whitesnake’s 1990 headlining performance at the Monsters of Rock Festival at Castle Donington on CD and DVD. The DVD also includes three music videos, all of which have been carefully restored and remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound for the first time ever. A new promo video for the track “Sweet Lady Luck”, made exclusively for this set, a behind the scenes look at the making of the album, plus a newly recorded interview with Coverdale and Vandenberg rounds out the DVD. 

Track Listing:

Disc One: Original 1989 Album (2019 Remaster)
1.    “Slip Of The Tongue”
2.    “Kittens Got Claws”
3.    “Cheap An’ Nasty”
4.    “Now You’re Gone”
5.    “The Deeper The Love”
6.    “Judgment Day”
7.    “Sailing Ships”
8.    “Wings Of The Storm”
9.    “Slow Poke Music”
10.  “Fool For Your Loving”

Bonus Tracks: B-Sides and Alternate Mixes
11.  “Sweet Lady Luck” (Single B-Side) 
12.  “Now You’re Gone” (Chris Lord-Alge Single Remix)
13.  “Fool For Your Loving” (Vai Voltage Mix)
14.  “Slip Of The Tongue” (Alternate Intro & Breakdown)
15.  “Cheap An’ Nasty” (Alternate Solo & End)
16.  “Judgment Day” (Alternate & Extended Solos)
17.  “Fool For Your Loving” (Alternate AOR mix with CHR intro)
Disc Two: The Wagging Tongue Edition (CD Debut)
1.    Interviewer: Phil Easton
2.    Spoken Word: “Slip Of The Tongue” Interview
3.    “Slip Of The Tongue”
4.    Spoken Word: “Cheap An’ Nasty” Interview
5.    “Cheap An’ Nasty”
6.    Spoken Word: “Fool For Your Loving” Interview
7.    “Fool For Your Loving”
8.    Spoken Word: “Now You’re Gone” Interview
9.   “Now You’re Gone”
10.  Spoken Word: “Kittens Got Claws” Interview
11.  “Kittens Got Claws”
12.  Spoken Word: “Wings Of The Storm” Interview
13.  “Wings Of The Storm”
14.  Spoken Word: The Deeper The Love Interview
15.  “The Deeper The Love”
16.  Spoken Word: “Judgment Day” Interview
17.  “Judgment Day”
18.  Spoken Word: “Slow Poke Music” Interview
19.  “Slow Poke Music”
20.  Spoken Word: “Sailing Ships” Interview
21.  “Sailing Ships”
22.  Spoken Word: Closing Interview

Disc Three: Evolutions: Demos/Remixes/Re-records
1.    “Slip Of The Tongue” *
2.    “Cheap An’ Nasty” *
3.    “Now You’re Gone” *
4.    “Judgment Day” *
5.    “Sailing Ships” *
6.    “Kittens Got Claws” *
7.    “The Deeper The Love” *
8.    “Wings Of The Storm” *
9.    “Slow Poke Music” *
10.  “Fool For Your Loving” *
11.  “Kill For The Cut” *
12.  “Parking Ticket” *
13.  “Sweet Lady Luck” (Instrumental) *

Disc Four: Monitor Mixes, April 1989
1.    “Kittens Got Claws” *
2.    “Cheap An’ Nasty” *
3.    “The Deeper The Love” *
4.    “Judgment Day” *
5.    “Slow Poke Music” *
6.    “Now You’re Gone” *
7.    “Slip Of The Tongue” *
8.    “Fool For Your Loving” *
9.    “Wings Of The Storm” *
10.  “Sailing Ships” *
11.  “Sweet Lady Luck” *
12.  “Parking Ticket” *
13.  “Kill For The Cut (In Desperate Search Of A Melody)” *
14.  “Burning Heart” *
15.  “Ain’t Gonna Cry No More” (Instrumental) *
16.  “We Wish You Well” *
Disc Five: A Trip To Granny’s House: 
Session Tapes, Wheezy Interludes & Jams
1.    “Slow Poke Music” *
2.    “Slip of The Tongue” *
3.    “Judgment Day” *
4.    “Now You’re Gone” *
5.    “Wings Of The Storm” *
6.    “Sailing Ships” *
7.    “Liquor And Poker” *
8.    “Parking Ticket” *
9.    “Kill For The Cut” *
10.  “Ain’t Gonna Cry No More” *
11.  “We Wish You Well” *
12.  “We Wish You Well” (Instrumental) *
13.  “Wheezy & Sometimes Very Naughty Interludes (Be Warned!)” *
14.  “Now You’re Gone” (Revisited) *
15.  “Death Disco” *
16.  “Whitesnake Boogie” *
17.  “Mike Clink’s Shoes Blues” *
18.  “Snake Shuffle” (Instrumental) *
19.  “Doodles” *
20.  “Dementia Polka” *
21.  “Kill For The Cut Blues” *
22.  “Cuban Heel Blues” *
23.  “Adje’s Blues” *
Disc Six: Live at Donington 1990
1.    “Slip Of The Tongue”
2.    “Slide It In”
3.    “Judgment Day”
4.    “Slow An’ Easy”
5.    “Kittens Got Claws”
6.    “Is This Love”
7.    “Cheap An’ Nasty”
8.    “Crying In The Rain”
9.    “Fool For Your Loving”
10.  “Here I Go Again”
11.  “Bad Boys”
12.  “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City”
13.  “Still Of The Night”

Disc Seven: DVD-Video
Live at Donington 1990
1.    “Slip Of The Tongue”
2.    “Slide It In”
3.    “Judgment Day”
4.    “Slow An’ Easy”
5.    “Kittens Got Claws”
6.    “Adagio For Strato”
7.    “Flying Dutchman Boogie”
8.    “Is This Love”
9.    “Cheap An’ Nasty”
10.  “Crying In The Rain” (featuring Tommy Aldridge Drum solo)
11.  “Fool For Your Loving”
12.  “For The Love Of God”
13.  “The Audience Is Listening”
14.  “Here I Go Again”
15.  “Bad Boys”
16.  “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City”
17.  “Still Of The Night”
18.  End Credits: “We Wish You Well”
Promo Videos
19.  “Fool For Your Loving” – Music Video
20.  “Now You’re Gone” – Music Video
21.  “The Deeper The Love” – Music Video

Bonus Features
22.  “Sweet Lady Luck” – Purplesnake Video
23.  Behind the Scenes: The Making of Slip Of The Tongue
24.  A Look Back: Whitesnake Chronicles with DC & Adrian Vandenberg

* previously unreleased
# # #