When You're Strange

Artist Name
The Doors
Release Date


Soundtrack Features Johnny Depp Reading The Poetry Of Jim Morrison, Plus Classic Studio Recordings, And Rare Live Performances From The Legendary Band,
Available April 6

Vinyl Double-LP Collections Absolutely Live And Live In New York Arrive March 16

LOS ANGELES – Rhino celebrates The Doors’ legacy as one of America’s most influential rock bands with a trio of audio releases to coincide with the theatrical release of When You’re Strange: A Film About The Doors. The first two releases are remastered double-LP live collections that highlight the explosive stage presence of Jim Morrison, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, and Ray Manzarek. The final release is the soundtrack to the film When You’re Strange, the first feature documentary about The Doors, opening in select markets on April 9.

When You’re Strange delivers an intimate look at The Doors using previously unseen footage filmed between 1965 and 1971. Produced by Wolf Films/Strange Pictures, in association with Rhino Entertainment, and released by Abramorama, the 90-minute documentary is written and directed by Tom DiCillo and narrated by Johnny Depp.

Rhino complements this telling of The Doors’ saga with a soundtrack that combines studio recordings and live performances with newly recorded readings of Morrison’s poetry by Depp. WHEN YOU’RE STRANGE: SONGS FROM THE MOTION PICTURE will be available April 6 at retail outlets, including www.whenyourestrangemovie.com, www.rhino.com, and www.thedoors.com, for a suggested price of $18.98 (CD) and $11.99 (digital).

The soundtrack contains several selections of Jim Morrison’s poetry as read by Depp, 14 songs that survey The Doors’ six landmark albums with original studio versions of classic tracks (“Touch Me,” “The End,” and “L.A. Woman”) along with rare live performances from The Ed Sullivan Show (“Light My Fire”), Danish TV (“When The Music’s Over”), and the Isle Of Wight Festival (“Break On Through [To The Other Side]”). The set also features interview clips with all four band members.

Shortly before the soundtrack’s debut, Rhino will release ABSOLUTELY LIVE and LIVE IN NEW YORK as double-LP sets on 180-gram virgin vinyl. These incendiary live albums will be available March 16 at retail outlets for a suggested price of $34.98 each. Bruce Botnick, The Doors’ original coproducer, engineer, and mixer used analog vacuum-tube equipment to remaster these albums. Beyond the attention to sonic detail, great care was also taken to accurately reproduce the original packaging.

Recorded at concerts in 1969 and 1970, ABSOLUTELY LIVE is a classic in The Doors’ original catalog. This album, first released in 1970 during Jim Morrison’s time with The Doors, presents incendiary performances of well-known Doors tracks, plus two originals only available live: “Universal Mind” and “Build Me A Woman.”

LIVE IN NEW YORK contains the first show from The Doors’ legendary run at The Felt Forum in New York City, one of the shows included in Rhino’s acclaimed boxed set, The Doors: Live In New York. Bruce Botnick mastered this concert—available here for the first time on vinyl—direct-to-disk, bypassing one whole stage of mixing, noise, and distortion, for the best-possible audiophile sound quality. Recorded on January 17, 1970—just a few weeks before the release of Morrison Hotel—the concert included soon-to-be-classics from the band’s forthcoming album, including “Roadhouse Blues,” “Peace Frog,” and “Ship Of Fools.”

Track Listing

1. Poem: “Cinema”
2. Poem: “The Spirit Of Music”
3. “Moonlight Drive” – The Doors
4. Poem: “The Doors Of Perception”
5. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)” (Live – Isle Of Wight 1970) – The Doors
6. Poem: “A Visitation Of Energy”
7. “Light My Fire” (Live – The Ed Sullivan Show 1967) – The Doors
8. “To Really Be A Superstar” – Jim Morrison (Interview)
9. “Five To One” – The Doors
10. Poem: “Wasting The Dawn”
11. “When The Music’s Over” (Live – Danish TV 1968) – The Doors
12. a) “The Four Of Us Are Musicians” – Jim Morrison (Interview)
b) “I’d Like Them To Listen” – Ray Manzarek (Interview)
c) “Rock & Roll And Jazz” – John Densmore (Interview)
d) “Our Music Is Symbolic” – Robby Krieger (Interview)
13. “Hello, I Love You” – The Doors
14. “Dead Serious” – Jim Morrison (Interview)
15. “People Are Strange” – The Doors
16. Poem: “Inside The Dream”
17. “Soul Kitchen” – The Doors
18. Poem: “We Have Been Metamorphosized”
19. Poem: “Touch Scares”
20. “Touch Me” – The Doors
21. Poem: “Naked We Come”
22. Poem: “O Great Creator Of Being”
23. “The End” – The Doors
24. Poem: “The Girl Of The Ghetto”
25. “L.A. Woman” – The Doors
26. Poem: “Crossroads”
27. “Roadhouse Blues” (Live – New York 1970) – The Doors
28. Poem: “Ensenada”
29. “Riders On The Storm” – The Doors
30. Poem: “As I Look Back”
31. “The Crystal Ship” – The Doors
32. Poem: “Goodbye America”

All poems read by Johnny Depp

Double-LP Track Listing

Side 1
1. Start Of Show
2. “Roadhouse Blues”
3. “Ship Of Fools”
4. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)”
Side 2
1. Tuning/Breather
2. “Peace Frog”
3. “Blue Sunday”
4. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”
5. “Back Door Man”/“Love Hides”
6. “Five To One”
Side 3
1. Tuning/Breather
2. “Who Do You Love”
3. “Little Red Rooster”
4. “Money”
Side 4
1. Tuning/Breather
2. “Light My Fire”
3. More, More, More
4. “Soul Kitchen”
5. End Of Show

Double-LP Track Listing

Side 1
1. “Who Do You Love”
2. Medley: “Alabama Song”/“Back Door Man”/“Love Hides”/“Five To One”
Side 2
1. “Build Me A Woman”
2. “When The Music’s Over”
Side 3
1. “Close To You”
2. “Universal Mind”
3. “Break On Thru, #2”
Side 4
1. “The Celebration Of The Lizard”
2. “Soul Kitchen”

# # #