The Vow - Music From The Motion Picture

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date

LOS ANGELES – Rhino will release THE VOW: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE in the days leading up to the film’s national opening on February 10. The soundtrack will be available February 7 for download at all digital retailers for $9.99, and on CD at and select indie retail stores for a suggested list price of $13.98.

Presented by Screen Gems and Spyglass Entertainment, The Vow is directed by Michael Sucsy, who won the 2009 Emmy for Outstanding Made for Television Movie for Grey Gardens, which also earned him Emmy nominations for writing and directing. The story is by Stuart Sender and the screenplay is by Abby Kohn & Marc Silverstein and Jason Katims.

The Vow follows the emotional story of Paige and Leo (Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum), a happy newlywed couple whose lives are changed by a car accident that puts Paige in a coma. Waking up with severe memory loss, Paige has no memory of Leo, a confusing relationship with her parents (Sam Neill and Jessica Lange), and an ex-fiancé (Scott Speedman) she may still have feelings for. Despite these complications, Leo endeavors to win her heart again and rebuild their marriage.

THE VOW: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE captures the couple’s poignant journey with songs from such artists as OK Go (“This Too Shall Pass”), Lykke Li (“Get Some”), Matt Pond PA (“Specks”) and The Cure, whose “Pictures of You” is heard playing during the film’s final scene. The digital version of the soundtrack contains The National’s “England” as an exclusive bonus track.

The physical and digital versions share 11 tracks, with the single version of Meat Loaf’s “I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)” leading off the album. Many of the songs come from indie artists such as the Canadian quintet Still Life Still (“Neon Blue”), Chicago’s Light FM (“Problems Of Our Own”) and L.A. rockers Voxhaul Broadcast (“Leaving On the 5th”). The album also includes “Nothing Was Stolen (Love Me Foolishly)” by Phosphorescent; “Play My Way” by Maya Von Doll; and a remix of Scott Hardkiss’ “Come On, Come On” that features singer Britta Phillips of Dean and Britta.

A note from director Michael Sucsy:

With each new project, the first thing I do is start a music dialogue. That playlist then becomes a point of inspiration that anchors my process, helping to create an overall tone for the film I am making. For this film, I didn’t want to select songs that were too nostalgic or obscure, nor did I want them to be overly “poppy” because that can make a film feel too specifically associated with one time and place. Certain songs from the initial playlist always jump out at me. In this case, “Come On, Come On” (by Scott Hardkiss/Dean & Britta Remix) struck a chord. Its pulsing bass woke my heart and its melody, coupled with Britta Phillips’ vocals, set the bittersweet tone, which encompassed the film I knew I was making. Once that track was set, it gave me the language, the parameters, an umbrella to work under. As the other tracks started to fall into place, I needed a strong song for the ending, and I didn’t want to utilize score. When I first watched The Cure’s “Pictures of You” up against the final scene in the film, I got deeply emotional. The song has always been one of my favorites, and while it’s typically about loss and regret, in the context of this moment between Leo (Tatum) and Paige (McAdams), it takes on a whole new meaning – one of letting go. The song almost feels custom written for The Vow when you consider the lyrics and so many of the scenes from the movie. And if there was ever any doubt as to whether this song fits in the musical lexicon of the film, it turns out that Scott Hardkiss used it as his inspiration for “Come On, Come On.” I love when things come full circle.

Track Listing

1. Meat Loaf – “I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)” [Single Edit]
2. Matt Pond PA – “Specks”
3. The National – “England”*
4. Voxhaul Broadcast – “Leaving On The 5th”
5. OK Go – “This Too Shall Pass”
6. Lykke Li – “Get Some”
7. Phosphorescent – “Nothing Was Stolen (Love Me Foolishly)”
8. Scott Hardkiss (feat. Britta Phillips) – “Come On, Come On” [Dean & Britta Remix]
9. Maya Von Doll – “Play My Way”
10. Light FM – “Problems Of Our Own”
11. Still Life Still – “Neon Blue”
12. The Cure – “Pictures Of You”

*digital version only

# # #