Artist Name
Release Date


Rhino Presents Career-Spanning Collection that Spotlights 14 of the Band’s Finest Including Studio Recordings, Rare Radio Edits and Soundtrack Contributions

Available from Rhino March 31

LOS ANGELES — A rare mix of power and finesse, Filter hangs its hard rock angst, electronic sheen and industrial grit on memorable hooks, rendering finely sculpted sonic broadsides that have distinguished the band over the course of four studio albums. Rhino takes aim at the band’s career—so far—with its first retrospective, THE VERY BEST THINGS (1995-2008). The single-disc collection will be available from Rhino Records March 31 for a suggested list price of $11.98 (CD) and $9.99 (digital).

The compilation’s 14 songs encompass studio recordings, rare radio edits and a scattering of soundtrack contributions. It begins with “Hey Man Nice Shot,” the Top 10 hit that put the band on the musical map in 1995 and pushed Short Bus—Filter’s debut—to platinum status. From there, the retrospective touches on songs that reflect the evolution of the band’s music, including “Soldiers Of Misfortune,” from their 2008 album Anthems For The Damned.

THE VERY BEST THINGS features 5 tracks from 1998’s Title Of Record, the certified-platinum follow-up to the band’s debut, including “The Best Things,” “I’m Not The Only One,” and the radio edits for the singles “Welcome To The Fold” and the smash hit “Take A Picture.” Taken from 2002’s The Amalgamut, the collection also features “The Only Way (Is The Wrong Way)” and the single edit version of “Where Do We Go From Here.”

In addition to its studio albums, Filter was also known for writing songs that appeared on a number of popular soundtracks. THE VERY BEST THINGS gathers several, including the savage intensity of “Jurrasitol” from The Crow – City Of Angels; “(Can’t You) Trip Like I Do” the band’s collaboration with The Crystal Method for Spawn: The Album; as well as “One (Is The Loneliest Number)” and “Thanks Bro,” two songs recorded for different X-Files albums.

After a six-year hiatus, Richard Patrick brought Filter back to active duty last spring with the release of the politically charged and critically acclaimed album Anthems For The Damned. The band followed up with the November digital only release Remixes For The Damned, which features brand-new remixes of various tracks from Anthems. Filter is planning a string of U.S. tour dates in the spring, with full details to be announced shortly.

Track Listing

1. “Hey Man Nice Shot”
2. “Welcome To The Fold” – Radio Edit
3. “Jurrasitol”
4. “(Can’t You) Trip Like I Do”
5. “Take A Picture” – Radio Edit
6. “Soldiers Of Misfortune”
7. “Where Do We Go From Here” – Single Edit
8. “Dose”
9. “I’m Not The Only One”
10. “Skinny”
11. “One (Is The Loneliest Number)”
12. “The Best Things”
13. “The Only Way (Is The Wrong Way)”
14. “Thanks Bro”

# # #