Then Play On & 1969-1972 Vinyl Box

Artist Name
Fleetwood Mac
Release Date


Revisit The Mighty Mac’s Roots With Expanded And Remastered
Version Of 1969’s Then Play On And Vinyl Boxed Set
Spanning The Group’s First Four Albums For Reprise Records

Both Will Be Available On August 20

LOS ANGELES – Fleetwood Mac is one of rock’s most storied and successful bands. Since forming in 1967, the beloved group has undergone numerous line-up changes while selling millions of albums worldwide. This summer, revisit the Fleetwood Mac’s early years with two special releases from Reprise Records.

The first is an expanded and remastered edition of THEN PLAY ON, Fleetwood Mac’s 1969 debut on Reprise. This reissue features the original U.K running order and track segues, with “One Sunny Day” and “Without You” making their first appearance on a CD issue of the album, as well as new liner notes by veteran rock journalist David Fricke and four bonus tracks, including the revered single “Oh Well – Pt. 1,” which boasts one of the great guitar riffs in rock history and has been covered by likes of Billy F Gibbons, Jimmy Page, and Tom Petty.

The second release is FLEETWOOD MAC: 1969-1972, a beautiful vinyl boxed set that collects four of the band’s classic albums, each lovingly reproduced on wax. As a bonus, the set comes with an exclusive replica of the original 1969 7-inch single of “Oh Well – Pt. 1” b/w “Oh Well – Pt. 2.”

THEN PLAY ON: EXPANDED EDITION will be available on CD August 20 for a suggested retail price of $18.98. FLEETWOOD MAC: 1969-1972 will be available the same day for $79.98.

Fleetwood Mac was already a popular blues band in 1969 when they released THEN PLAY ON, the group’s stellar third studio album. It was the first with guitarist-songwriter Danny Kirwan and ultimately its last with founding member Peter Green. The album’s powerful mix of blues and rock includes standout tracks like “Rattlesnake Shake,” “Searching For Madge” and “Coming Your Way.” Rhino’s newly re-mastered and expanded edition includes four bonus tracks originally released as singles: parts one and two of “Oh Well,” “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)” and “World In Harmony,” which is available on CD for the first time.

FLEETWOOD MAC: 1969-1972 features four complete albums – Then Play On (1969), Kiln House (1970), Future Games (1971) and Bare Trees (1972) – housed in a striking black slipcase. To ensure superb sound quality, Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering cut the lacquers for all four albums. The records look as good as they sound thanks to authentically reproduced packages, including gatefolds for Then Play On and Kiln House and single sleeves for Future Games and Bare Trees.

The set follows the band through an early transitional period. With Kiln House, Fleetwood Mac began moving toward a more melodic pop sound on songs like “Mission Bell” and “One Together.” At the time, the band included: Jeremy Spencer (guitar, vocals, piano), Kirwan (guitar, vocals), John McVie (bass) and Mick Fleetwood (drums). Christine McVie was at the recording sessions and contributed backing vocals and the album’s cover art, but she did not join the band until shortly after the album was finished.

The band’s shift toward pop and folk styles continued on Future Games with songs like “Show Me A Smile” and “Morning Rain.” This marks the first Fleetwood Mac album with Christine McVie as a full band member as well as the Mac debut of Bob Welch on guitar.

The line-up stayed the same for Bare Trees, which boasts a consistently strong collection of songs like McVie’s “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love,” Kirwan’s “Dust” and Welch’s “Sentimental Lady.” Although Kirwan was a dominant figure during the recording, penning half of the songs, this would ultimately be his last appearance on a Fleetwood Mac album.

Track Listing

1. “Coming Your Way”
2. “Closing My Eyes”
3. “Fighting For Madge”
4. “When You Say”
5. “Show Biz Blues”
6. “Underway”
7. “One Sunny Day”
8. “Although The Sun Is Shining”
9. “Rattlesnake Shake”
10. “Without You”
11. “Searching For Madge”
12. “My Dream”
13. “Like Crying”
14. “Before The Beginning”
Bonus Tracks
15. “Oh Well - Pt. 1”
16. “Oh Well - Pt. 2”
17. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”
18. “World In Harmony”

FLEETWOOD MAC: 1969-1972
Track Listing

Then Play On (1969)

Side 1
1. “Coming Your Way”
2. “Closing My Eyes”
3. “Fighting For Madge”
4. “When You Say”
5. “Show Biz Blues”
6. “Underway”
7. “One Sunny Day”
Side 2
1. “Although The Sun Is Shining”
2. “Rattlesnake Shake”
3. “Without You”
4. “Searching For Madge”
5. “My Dream”
6. “Like Crying”
7. “Before The Beginning”

Kiln House (1970)

Side 1
1. “This Is The Rock”
2. “Station Man”
3. “Blood On The Floor”
4. “Hi Ho Silver”
5. “Jewel Eyed Judy”

Side 2
1. “Buddy’s Song”
2. “Earl Gray”
3. “One Together”
4. “Tell Me All The Things You Do”
5. “Mission Bell”

Future Games (1971)

Side 1
1. “Woman Of 1000 Years”
2. “Morning Rain”
3. “What A Shame”
4. “Future Games”

Side 2
1. “Sands Of Time”
2. “Sometimes”
3. “Lay It All Down”
4. “Show Me A Smile”

Bare Trees (1972)

Side 1
1. “Child Of Mine”
2. “The Ghost”
3. “Homeward Bound”
4. “Sunny Side Of Heaven”

Side 2
1. “Bare Trees”
2. “Sentimental Lady”
3. “Danny’s Chant”
4. “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love”
5. “Dust”
6. “Thoughts On A Grey Day”

Bonus 7” Single

Side 1
“Oh Well - Pt. 1”

Side 2
“Oh Well - Pt. 2”

# # #