Taking Woodstock: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


Soundtrack To Ang Lee’s New Comedy About
The Road To The 1969 Event Includes Unforgettable Songs By
The Artists Who Played Woodstock, And Much More

Three Versions Available From Rhino August 25

LOS ANGELES — Taking Woodstock is the new movie comedy directed by Oscar winner Ang Lee (Brokeback Mountain; Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) inspired by the memoirs of Elliot Tiber, who with his family inadvertently played a role in making the Woodstock Music and Arts Festival into the famed happening it was, 40 years ago this summer. The TAKING WOODSTOCK soundtrack, with songs from many of the artists who performed at the festival, reflects a joyous moment in time when everything seemed possible.

Three different versions will be available from Rhino August 25 at www.rhino.com and at all retail outlets. The CD version features the soundtrack with selections of Oscar® nominee Danny Elfman’s (Milk) score for a suggested list price of $18.98. Available digitally are the standard soundtrack ($11.99), the score-only version ($11.99), and an iTunes exclusive deluxe version, which includes the soundtrack, plus the complete score, for a suggested list price of $19.99

The TAKING WOODSTOCK soundtrack begins with Richie Havens, who opened the festival on August 15, 1969. For the movie Havens recorded a new version of “Freedom,” the song he played to close his set at Woodstock. The soundtrack contains songs from a number of 1960s musical icons who performed at the festival, including Grateful Dead, Janis Joplin, Jefferson Airplane, and Crosby, Stills & Nash–who played only their second show in front of the crowd, which was estimated at 500,000 strong.

Another memorable Woodstock moment echoed on the soundtrack is a live version of “I-Feel-Like I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag,” the anti-war song Country Joe McDonald performed after leading the crowd in the infamous “Fish” cheer. The soundtrack also features live performances by other Woodstock alumni, including Arlo Guthrie (“Coming Into Los Angeles”), Canned Heat (“Going Up The Country”), Melanie (“Beautiful People”), and The Band (“I Shall Be Released”), whose members lived not far from the concert site.

Artists who were scheduled to perform at the festival but had to drop out are included on the TAKING WOODSTOCK soundtrack as well; Love (“The Red Telephone”) and The Doors (“Maggie M’Gill”).

Focus Features will release the movie Taking Woodstock nationwide August 28. The film stars Demetri Martin, Dan Fogler, Henry Goodman, Jonathan Groff, Eugene Levy, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, and Imelda Staunton, with Emile Hirsch and Liev Schreiber. For more information about the film, visit www.takingwoodstockthemovie.com.

Track Listing

1. “Freedom (2009)” – Richie Havens
2. Taking Woodstock Titles*
3. “Wooden Ships” – Crosby, Stills & Nash
4. “China Cat Sunflower” (Live) – Grateful Dead
5. “Maggie M’Gill” – The Doors
6. Elliot’s Place*
7. “Coming Into Los Angeles” (Live) – Arlo Guthrie
8. “I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag” (Live) – Country Joe McDonald
9. “Going Up The Country” (Live) – Canned Heat
10. “Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)” (Live) – Janis Joplin
11. A Happening (Office #2)*
12. “The Red Telephone” - Love
13. “Beautiful People” (Live) – Melanie
14. “I Shall Be Released” (Live) – The Band
15. Perspective Extended*
16. “One More Mile” – The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
17. “Volunteers” – Jefferson Airplane

*Score written and produced by Danny Elfman

Track Listing

1. Taking Woodstock Titles
2. Elliot’s Place
3. At Ease Man
4. Welcome Home
5. The Magic Tickets
6. Get The Money
7. Chocolate Milk
8. Groovy Thing (Office #1)
9. A Happening (Office #2)
10. Groovy Thing (Guitar Solo)
11. Life Goes On
12. The Acid Trip
13. Hash Brownies
14. In The Mud
15. Perspective Extended
16. I Love Her
17. Woodstock Wildtrack #1
18. Woodstock Wildtrack #2
# # #