Artist Name
Grateful Dead
Release Date


SUNSHINE DAYDREAM Brings One Of The Band’s Most Sought After
Performances To Life With Restored Audio And Video Offers Exclusive, Limited Edition Deluxe Versions,
Available Now For Pre-Order

CD, DVD, Blu-Ray, Vinyl, And Digital Versions Set For Release On September 17

LOS ANGELES – On August 27, 1972, fresh off their now-legendary European tour, the Grateful Dead traveled to Veneta, Oregon and reunited with the Merry Pranksters to throw a benefit concert for the Kesey family’s Springfield Creamery. The show, which was recorded and filmed but never released, has since become the most-requested live show in Grateful Dead history.

Dead Heads recently had their patience rewarded when this unreleased gem finally had its time in the sun with a special “one night only” theatrical premiere nationwide on August 1, which was Jerry Garcia’s birthday.

On September 17, the Grateful Dead will give fans a chance to relive this highly sought after concert with the release of SUNSHINE DAYDREAM (VENETA, OR 8/27/72). The set will be available in several different configurations, including two exclusives that are available for pre-order now.

3 CD/1 DVD (Retail Version)
• Concert film painstakingly restored with all-new stereo and 5.1 audio mixes done by Jeffrey Norman and mastered by Grammy-winning engineer David Glasser.
• Entire concert mixed and mastered to HDCD from the original 16-track tapes.
• Producer’s note by David Lemieux.
• Package features original tie-dye by Courtenay Pollock and brand new cover art by Steve Vance.
• Available September 17 at retail outlets for $39.98.

3 CD/1 DVD Deluxe Edition ( Exclusive)
• All content from retail version.
• “Grateful Days,” a new, bonus documentary about the show.
• 40-page book with original essays by Nick Meriwether, Ken Babbs, Sam Field, Johnny Dwork, and David Lemieux.
• Original tie-dye slipcase by Courtenay Pollock.
• Limited edition of 12,500 individually numbered copies.
• exclusive, pre-order now for $49.98.

3 CD/1 Blu-ray Deluxe Edition ( Exclusive)
• Identical content and packaging as DVD Deluxe Version but with film on Blu-ray. Please note that the Blu-ray is only included in this version.
• Limited edition of 12,500 individually numbered copies.
• exclusive, pre-order now for $54.98.

Digital Download (Audio Only)
• Audio of entire concert mixed and mastered from the original 16-track tapes.
• Available September 17 at digital retail outlets for $19.99.

4-LP Vinyl Set
• Lacquers cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.
• Four 180-gram LPs housed in a lavish four-panel jacket featuring original artwork by Steve Vance and tie-dye by Courtenay Pollock.
• Limited edition of 5,000 copies.
• Available September 17 at retail outlets for $79.98.

The concert – which is considered to be the Merry Pranksters’ last “Acid Test” – offers a snapshot of the band at the peak of its playing prowess and features the classic lineup of: Jerry Garcia, Donna Jean Godchaux, Keith Godchaux, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh and Bob Weir. The setlist that day included memorable performance of “Sugaree,” “Deal,” “Black-Throated Wind,” “Greatest Story Ever Told,” “Bird Song” and a mind-melting version of “Dark Star” that stretches over 30 minutes.

Apart from the band’s stellar performance, the show is also remembered for the sweltering temperature (having taken place on one of the hottest days on record in Oregon) and the lack of water at the Olde Renaissance Fairgrounds, where the concert was held. Both exclusive versions include the bonus documentary “Grateful Days” which features never-before-seen footage of the concert and recently recorded interviews with key participants such as Ken Babbs, Sam Cutler, Wavy Gravy and Carolyn “Mountain Girl” Garcia.

Audio Track Listing

Disc One
1. Introduction
2. “Promised Land”
3. “Sugaree”
4. “Me And My Uncle”
5. “Deal”
6. “Black-Throated Wind”
7. “China Cat Sunflower”
8. “I Know You Rider”
9. “Mexicali Blues”
10. “Bertha”

Disc Two
1. “Playing In The Band”
2. “He’s Gone”
3. “Jack Straw”
4. “Bird Song”
5. “Greatest Story Ever Told”

Disc Three
1. “Dark Star”
2. “El Paso”
3. “Sing Me Back Home”
4. “Sugar Magnolia”
5. “Casey Jones”
6. “One More Saturday Night”

# # #