The Stooges

Artist Name
The Stooges
Release Date


Rhino Handmade Honors the Group’s 2010 Induction With Collector’s Edition Of
The Stooges Debut Featuring Previously Unissued Studio Track “Asthma Attack”
On CD and 7" Single

Pre-Order Next Week At, Ships In Late April

LOS ANGELES – The Stooges—Iggy Pop, Ron and Scott Asheton, and Dave Alexander—may have sounded like they were from the Stone Age, but the Ann Arbor quartet predicted the future of rock ’n’ roll more than 40 years ago with the untamable sonic assault of its self-titled 1969 debut on Elektra Records. Soon after the band’s March 15 induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Rhino Handmade will celebrate the visionary group’s historic feedback-laden clarion call with a Collector’s Edition of that debut.

Scheduled to ship in late April, THE STOOGES will be available for pre-order next week exclusively at for a suggested list price of $49.98. The 26-track collection will be issued in a 7" x 7" hardbound booklet that contains two CDs along with a 7" single that features the previously unreleased track “Asthma Attack.” A staple of the group’s early live shows, this is the first time a studio version of the song has been released.

The Collector’s Edition’s first disc combines the original album’s eight songs with producer John Cale’s original mixes, including unreleased versions of “We Will Fall” and “Ann.” Also featured is the mono single version of “I Wanna Be Your Dog,” a song Rolling Stone named #438 on its list of “500 Greatest Songs Of All Time”—right behind Elvis’ “Love Me Tender.”

The second disc opens with “Asthma Attack,” a breathless spectacle of a song written when The Stooges’ 20-minute live sets were dominated by arty experiments in feedback and improvisation. The remainder of the disc presents an alternate version of the original album with alternate takes of every song, including full versions of “No Fun” and “Ann,” plus unreleased versions of “We Will Fall,” “Real Cool Time,” and the album closer, “Little Doll.”

Despite lackluster commercial and critical response at the time of its release, THE STOOGES has withstood the test of time. “The Stooges’ influence is legion—to name all of the bands, singers, and would-be rock stars who drank from the well could fill 1,000 phone books,” writes author Mike Edison in the collection’s liner notes. “There is not a hard or heavy band anywhere on the planet that’s not in earnest awe of The Stooges.”

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. “1969”
2. “I Wanna Be Your Dog”
3. “We Will Fall”
4. “No Fun”
5. “Real Cool Time”
6. “Ann”
7. “Not Right”
8. “Little Doll”
9. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” – Mono Single Version
10. “1969” – Original John Cale Mix
11. “Not Right” – Original John Cale Mix
12. “We Will Fall” – Original John Cale Mix*
13. “No Fun” – Original John Cale Mix
14. “Real Cool Time” – Original John Cale Mix
15. “Ann” – Original John Cale Mix*
16. “Little Doll” – Original John Cale Mix
17. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” – Original John Cale Mix

Disc 2
1. “Asthma Attack”*
2. “1969” – Alternate Vocal
3. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” – Alternate Vocal
4. “We Will Fall”*
5. “No Fun” – Full Version
6. “Real Cool Time” – Takes 1 & 2*
7. “Ann” – Full Version
8. “Not Right” – Alternate Vocal
9. “Little Doll” – Takes 1-5*

*Previously unreleased

# # #