Shutter Island: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


Produced By Robbie Robertson, Double-Disc Soundtrack To Martin Scorsese Thriller
Features A Haunting Collection Of Modern Classical Music

Available From Rhino Records February 2

LOS ANGELES – Paramount Pictures presents SHUTTER ISLAND, the latest film from Oscar®-winning director Martin Scorsese. Premiering February 19 in theaters nationwide, the suspense thriller stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley, and Michelle Williams. Laeta Kalogridis wrote the screenplay based on the novel by Dennis Lehane. Produced by Robbie Robertson, the film’s haunting double-disc soundtrack features a stunning array of modern classical music. SHUTTER ISLAND: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE will be available from Rhino on February 2 at all retail outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $19.98 (physical) and $11.99 (digital).

The soundtrack is the latest in a long line of collaborations between Scorsese and Robertson. The two first worked together in 1978 on The Last Waltz, a concert film chronicling The Band’s history along with the original members’ final performance together. During the years that followed, Robertson and Scorsese collaborated on music for the films Raging Bull, The King Of Comedy, The Color Of Money, Casino and Departed.

The collection of modern classical music was hand-selected by Robertson, who is proud of its scope and sound. “This may be the most outrageous and beautiful soundtrack I’ve ever heard.”

SHUTTER ISLAND: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE features a number of symphonic performances, including appearances by The San Francisco Symphony, the National Polish Radio Symphony, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, and the Wiener Philharmoniker. The double-disc collection also contains music by an eclectic group of artists, ranging from ’50s crooner Johnnie Ray (“Cry”), to seminal blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson (“Tomorrow Night”), and sound sculptor Brian Eno (“Lizard Point”). All 19 of the compilation’s songs are featured in the film.

From Oscar®-winning director Martin Scorsese, "Shutter Island" is the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio) and Chuck Aule (Mark Ruffalo), who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the coast of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island’s fortresslike hospital for the criminally insane.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. “Fog Tropes” – Orchestra of St. Lukes, conducted by John Adams
2. “Symphony No. 3: Passacaglia - Allegro Moderato” – National Polish Radio Symphony, conducted by Antonio Wit
3. “Music For Marcel Duchamp” – Philipp Vandré
4. “Hommage á John Cage” – Nam June Paik
5. “Lontano” – Wiener Philharmoniker, conducted by Claudio Abbado
6. “Rothko Chapel 2” – UC Berkeley Chamber Chorus
7. “Cry” – Johnnie Ray
8. “On The Nature Of Daylight” – Max Richter
9. “Uaxuctum: The Legend Of The Mayan City Which They Themselves Destroyed For Religious Reasons – 3rd Movement” – Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra
10. “Quartet For Strings And Piano In A Minor” – Prazak Quartet

Disc 2
1. “Christian Zeal And Activity” – The San Francisco Symphony, conducted by Edo de Waart
2. “Suite For Symphonic Strings: Nocturne” – The New Professionals Orchestra, conducted by Rebecca Miller
3. “Lizard Point” – Brian Eno
4. “Four Hymns: II For Cello And Double Bass” – Torleif Thedéen & Entcho Radoukanov
5. “Root Of An Unfocus” – Boris Berman
6. “Prelude - The Bay” – Ingram Marshall
7. “Wheel Of Fortune” – Kay Starr
8. “Tomorrow Night” – Lonnie Johnson
9. “This Bitter Earth”/“On The Nature Of Daylight” – Dinah Washington/Max Richter

# # #