Rod Stewart Tears of Hercules Available November 12

Artist Name
Rod Stewart
Release Date



Features Nine New Original Songs, Plus Covers Of Marc Jordan, Johnny Cash And More

The First Single “One More Time” Is Available Digitally

Pre-Order CD And LP Versions Now For Release On November 12

LOS ANGELES – Sir Rod Stewart’s rekindled love of songwriting grows stronger on his 31st studio album, THE TEARS OF HERCULES. It’s Stewart’s fourth new album of original songs since 2013, when he reconnected with his songwriting muse to record Time, a chart-topping, double-platinum album in the U.K. For his latest, Stewart wrote nine of the album’s 12 songs, including the first single, “One More Time,” which is available today on all digital and streaming services.

On November 12, THE TEARS OF HERCULES will be available on CD and LP, as well as through digital and streaming services. Pre Order info TK

THE TEARS OF HERCULES is a project close to Stewart’s heart, especially the song “Touchline,” which he dedicated to his father, who taught him and his brothers to love football, a tradition Sir Rod has passed down to his sons. In the album’s sleeve note, Stewart says he’s proud of the album. “I’ve never said this before about any previous efforts, but I believe this is by far my best album in many a year,” he writes.

To make THE TEARS OF HERCULES, Stewart once again worked with Kevin Savigar, the keyboardist-songwriter-composer who has co-produced Stewart’s last three studio albums: Time (2013), Another Country (2015), and Blood Red Roses (2018). They’re long-running collaboration began in 1978 when Stewart invited Savigar to join his studio and touring band. In addition to “One More Time,” they also co-wrote the standout tracks “Hold On” and “All My Days.” Stewart co-wrote “Born To Boogie (A Tribute To Mark Bolan)” with Emerson Swinford, the guitarist in his band. Stewart, Savigar, and Swinford share songwriting credit on “I Can’t Imagine.”

Stewart has always had a gift for making any song sound like it was written just for him. That’s certainly true of the album’s title track, a powerful ballad written by Marc Jordan. Through the years, Stewart has recorded other songs written by Jordan, including “Rhythm Of My Heart” (#5 U.S./#3 U.K.) from Vagabond Heart and “This” from his gold-certified album, A Spanner in the Works. Additional covers include Stewart’s joyful take on Soul Brother Six’s “Some Kind Of Wonderful” and his stirring rendition of Johnny Cash’s “These Are My People.”

The two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee says he’s looking forward to playing some of the new songs live next year during his North American Tour. It will start on July 1 in Fort Worth, Texas and includes 19 shows. Click for ticket information.

But first, Stewart will return to Las Vegas to celebrate the 10th anniversary of his acclaimed residency, “Rod Stewart: The Hits.” He’ll play nine shows at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace between October 6 and 23. The performances will feature chart-topping hits that span Stewart’s unparalleled career including “You Wear It Well,” “Maggie May,” “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy,” “The First Cut is the Deepest,” “Tonight’s the Night” and “Forever Young.”


CD Track Listing:

  1. “One More Time”
  2. “Gabriella”
  3. “All My Days”
  4. “Some Kind Of Wonderful”
  5. “Born To Boogie (A Tribute To Mark Bolan)”
  6. “Kookooaramabama”
  7. “I Can’t Imagine”
  8. “The Tears Of Hercules”
  9. “Hold On”
  10. “Precious Memories”
  11. “These Are My People”
  12. “Touch Line”


LP Track Listing

Side One

  1. “One More Time”
  2. “Gabriella”
  3. “All My Days”
  4. “Some Kind Of Wonderful”
  5. “Born To Boogie (A Tribute To Mark Bolan)”
  6. “Kookooaramabama”


Side Two

  1. “I Can’t Imagine”
  2. “The Tears Of Hercules”
  3. “Hold On”
  4. “Precious Memories”
  5. “These Are My People”
  6. “Touch Line”