Rhino Celebrates Black Music Month with "Titans Of Soul" Playlist, "Hip Hop Diaspora" Livestream Series, and Exclusive Vinyl Releases

Artist Name
Black Music Month
Release Date

The Label Will Spotlight Classic Tracks From Soul Pioneers In “Titans of Soul,” A New Playlist Available Now

Rhino And LL Cool J’s Rock The Bells Organization Launch “Hip Hop Diaspora,” A Livestream Series Hosted By DJ R-Tistic That Will Explore How Different Hip Hop Styles Have Developed Regionally


Modern Hip Hop Classics Make Their Vinyl Debut, Including Albums By Joyner Lucas, Lil Skies, Shoreline Mafia, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, And NBA YoungBoy


NEW YORK – Rhino celebrates Black Music Month in June with a new playlist packed with soul classics, a digital series about the evolution of regional hip hop, and vinyl releases from four of hip hop’s rising stars.


Rhino artists will be featured on the Topsify-curated playlist “Titans of Soul,” which includes a mix of classic gems by soul pioneers from across the Warner Music Group labels. Highlights include music by Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding, Curtis Mayfield, Roberta Flack, Donny Hathaway and more. “Titans of Soul” is available.


Rhino has also partnered with LL Cool J’s Rock The Bells organization to launch “Hip Hop Diaspora.” This new, four-part livestream series will be hosted by DJ R-Tistic, who will explore how different styles of hip hop have developed regionally. Fans can tune into DJ Artistic’s Twitch channel to watch the live mix starting June 8 and every Wednesday throughout the month. A Topsify playlist is also available and streamed live weekly starting June 8. Each week’s playlist will focus on a new region. The first region will be East, followed by West, South, and Midwest.


Starting today, Rhino will begin taking pre-orders for four modern hip hop classics making their vinyl debut: Joyner Lucas, 508-507-2209; Lil Skies, Life of a Dark Rose; Shoreline Mafia, ShorelineDoThatShit; A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Artist 2.0; and NBA YoungBoy, Sincerely, Kentrell. All five albums are available for pre-order today.


Lucas’s 2017 mixtape, 508-507-2209, debuted at #7 on the Heatseekers Album chart. Music videos released for the album’s four singles have been viewed more than 100 million times collectively. Skies’ 2018 mixtape, Life of a Dark Rose, peaked at #10 on the Billboard 200 album chart and has been certified platinum. Shoreline Mafia’s 2017 debut, ShorelineDoThatShit, features the breakout tracks “Musty” and “Nun Major.” A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie’s third album, Artist 2.0, debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200 in 2020 and has been certified platinum, and YoungBoy’s Sincerely, Kentrell, debuted at #1 on the US Billboard 200 chart.