Artist Name
The Stooges
Release Date


Rhino Handmade Unveils Unreleased 1970 Show At Ungano’s With Performances Of Nearly Every Song From Fun House, Plus Two Previously Unheard Tracks

1970: The Complete Fun House Sessions Tops Rhino Handmade Poll,
Re-release Coming Of This Long Sold-Out, Seven-Disc Boxed Set

Rhino.com Pre-Order For Both Releases Begins October 25, Ships November 16

LOS ANGELES – To celebrate the release of Fun House in the summer of 1970, The Stooges brought the uncompromising ferocity of their second album to New York City and unleashed it within the cramped confines of Ungano’s, a hole-in-the-wall club on the Upper West Side. A reel-to-reel set up in the audience recorded the manic maelstrom as the band performed the entire album – except “L.A. Blues” – along with the until-now unreleased tracks “Have Some Fun” and “My Dream Is Dead.”

Rhino Handmade brings to light this legendary unreleased show in its entirety on a single disc accompanied by a poster, two glossy photos taken that night, and new liner notes composed by Lenny Kaye. Shipping November 16, HAVE SOME FUN: LIVE AT UNGANO’S will be available for pre-order on October 25 exclusively at www.rhino.com for $19.98.

The adrenalin-drenched set features singer Iggy Pop, guitarists Ron Asheton and Bill Cheatham, drummer Scott Asheton, bassist Zeke Zettner and saxophonist Steve Mackay. The band closes the show with a 10-minute-plus psychedelic, freak out jam featuring two unreleased tracks, “Have Some Fun” and “My Dream Is Dead.”

Musician and writer Lenny Kaye attended the show and transports you there in the album’s liner notes: “The sound comes in sheets of earsplitting noise, dense and bleating, as if a sheep is being led to slaughter. You can literally hear the ’60s gasping for breath, the totemic sacrifice of The Stooges.”

The same day HAVE SOME FUN will be released, Rhino Handmade will also rerelease 1970: The Complete Fun House Sessions. This seven-disc boxed set topped Rhino Handmade’s poll earlier this year to determine which of the label’s sold-out titles to put back in print. The reissued collection – which will not be individually numbered, preserving the collectability of the initial release – will be offered in its original packaging for $119.98.

This Holy Grail among Handmade titles, the original 1999 pressing for The Complete Fun House Sessions was limited to 3,000 copies, contains 142 tracks (109 music and 33 studio dialogue) whose nearly eight hours document every take from every Fun House session, in order, exactly as The Stooges recorded them. The set includes six CDs packaged in standard jewel cases, each with an eight-page folder. The seventh is packaged in a die-cut cardboard sleeve as a replica of the original Elektra single for “Down On The Street” b/w “1970 (I Feel Alright).”

Rhino’s Stooges celebration began a few weeks ago with the release of both of the band’s Elektra records on 180-gram vinyl. Cut from the original analog masters, The Stooges and Fun House are both available now for a suggested list price of $17.98 each.

Track Listing

1. Going To Ungano’s
2. “Loose”
3. “Down On The Street”
4. “T.V. Eye”
5. “Dirt”
6. “1970”
7. “Fun House”
8. “Have Some Fun”/”My Dream Is Dead”

# # #