Dr. Feelgood Singles (The U.A. Years+) Double LP To Be Released On June 11 From Rhino

Artist Name
Dr. Feelgood
Release Date




The 1989 Best-Of To Be Released On Black Double-LP And On Special Edition Unique Recycled Double-LP Available Exclusively At Rhino


To Be Released June 11


Dr. Feelgood’s best-of SINGLES (THE U.A. YEARS+) is to be remanufactured and reissued on vinyl for the first time since its original release in 1989. Available as a double-LP, there will be a black edition and limited-edition recycled vinyl available exclusively at Rhino with the latter made from scraps of unused color vinyl, that will be reworked to create new vinyl. Each one is completely unique, each with its own color combination, which will resemble splatter or marble vinyl, providing a comparable sound to normal colored vinyl.


To be released on June 11, SINGLES (THE U.A. YEARS+) is a celebration of 26 tracks of Dr. Feelgood at their absolute peak. Having formed in 1971 in Essex, founding members Lee Brilleaux (singer), John B. Sparks (Sparko) on bass guitar, John Martin (The Big Figure) on drums, and guitarist Wilko Johnson, whose iconic and renowned choppy style of playing saw the band build huge notoriety in London’s live music scene resulting in a record deal with US Artists in 1974.


That year, Dr. Feelgood released their debut single “Roxette,” along with the single “She Does It Right,” penned the night before a BBC Radio One Top Gear session. Both were included on their debut record - the iconic Down By The Jetty that was met with huge acclaim and has since been noted by artists including Paul Weller, Bob Geldof, Blondie, and The Ramones as having a huge impact on their careers.


The band's popularity grew and their notoriety expanded as they continued playing live and writing. In 1975. the band saw the singles “Back In The Night” and “Going Back Home,” break into the UK Top 20 with their subsequent album Malpractice. Following this success, the band went on a UK headline tour, as well as a “Speeding Through Europe” tour, cementing the band’s success on the continent. This was followed up by their live album Stupidity reaching number one in the UK Albums Chart.


Following the release of Sneakin’ Suspicion, Wilko Johnson left the band and was replaced by John 'Gypie' Mayo. Under the new variation of the band, it yielded hits such as “She’s A Wind Up,” “Down At The Doctors,” and the Dr. Feelgood classic “Milk And Alcohol,” the top 10 single written by Gypie Mayo and Nick Lowe.


Subsequently, throughout 1979 and 1980, the band released various singles such as “Put Him Out Of Your Mind,” “Hong Kong Money” and “Violent Love.” However, the year ended with Gypie Mayo leaving the band, with Johnny Guitar and Gordon Russell joining the latest form of the band. This led to the singles such as “Crazy About Girls” and “Monkey.” Changes in the band’s personnel continued, with founding members, John B. Sparks (Sparko) and John Martin (The Big Figure) also departing.


Lee Brilleaux temporarily disbanded Dr. Feelgood in 1982 and started from scratch again, rehiring Gordon Russell, as well as Phil Mitchell on bass and Kevin Morris on drums. This new line-up was Dr. Feelgood’s most stable yet, leading to singles such as “Mad Man Blues” and “Don’t Wait Up,” the latter of which received significant airplay.


It was an incredible and prolific first six years for the band and remains one of the most important bodies of work in British rock. SINGLES (THE U.A. YEARS+) is an encyclopedia of Dr. Feelgood’s greatest moments that saw the band’s biggest commercial successes but also some of their most influential moments.


For more information about DR. FEELGOOD, please contact Sarin Chahanian in the Rhino Media Relations Department at sarin.chahanian@rhino.com or (818) 238-2208.


Track Listing:


Side 1


“She Does It Right”

“Back In The Night”

“Going Back Home”

“Riot In Cell Block No. 9”

“Sneakin’ Suspicion”


Side 2

“She’s A Wind Up”

“Baby Jane”

“Down At The Doctors”

“Milk And Alcohol”

“As Long As The Price Is Right”

“Put Him Out Of Your Mind”


Side 3

“Hong Kong Money”

“No Mo Do Yakamo”

“Jumping From Love To Love”

“Violent Love”

“Waiting For Saturday Night”


“Trying To Live My Life Without You”


Side 4

“Crazy About Girls”

“My Way”

“Mad Man Blues”

“Don’t Wait Up”

“See You Later Alligator”

“Hunting Shooting Fishing”

“Milk And Alcohol… (New Recipe)”


# # #