Artist Name
The Doors
Release Date


Long Out-Of-Print Albums Featuring Trio Of John Densmore, Robby Krieger,
And Ray Manzarek To Be Released On Virgin 180-Gram Vinyl And As 2-CD Set

Available September 4 From Rhino

After singer Jim Morrison died in 1971, the surviving members of The Doors - drummer John Densmore, guitarist Robby Krieger, and keyboardist Ray Manzarek - continued to make music together as a trio and went on to release two more albums: Other Voices and Full Circle. For years, that music has only been available digitally.

That will soon change as Rhino announces plans to release OTHER VOICES and FULL CIRCLE on both vinyl and CD. The vinyl edition of each album will be pressed on virgin 180-gram vinyl and will come packed in historically accurate sleeves. That includes the wild, foldout zoetrope that came with FULL CIRCLE. Once assembled, this basic animation device depicts the human life cycle of a man from infancy to elderly. Available separately on September 4 from Rhino, the vinyl editions of OTHER VOICES and FULL CIRCLE will be available for list prices of $24.98 and $26.98 respectively.

The albums will also be paired together for the first time in a two-CD set featuring remastered audio by original album producer Bruce Botnick along with the rare bonus track, "Treetrunk." The song was first released as the b-side to the 1972 single "Get Up And Dance" from FULL CIRCLE. The new double-disc set featuring OTHER VOICES and FULL CIRCLE will also be available on September 4 for a list price of $19.98.

After The Doors finished recording L.A. Woman in 1971, Morrison moved to Paris, France. In the meantime, the three other members stayed behind in Los Angeles where they worked on music for what would be The Doors' seventh studio album. When the legendary singer passed away on July 3, 1971, the trio agreed to continue on, using those songs as the basis for OTHER VOICES, with Krieger and Manzarek now sharing vocal duties. Released in 1971, the album featured the two singles "Tightrope Ride" and "Ships w/ Sails."

Following a successful U.S. tour, the trio returned to the studio in 1972 to begin recording FULL CIRCLE, which came out that summer. The sound incorporated more jazzy elements into the arrangements on several songs like "Verdilac" and "The Piano Bird." After touring to support the record, The Doors went their separate ways but the surviving trio reunited on several occasions through the years for special projects, including the band's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1993.

Track Listing
1. "In The Eye Of The Sun"
2. "Variety Is The Spice Of Life"
3. "Ships w/Sails"
4. "Tightrope Ride"
5. "Down On The Farm"
6. "I'm Horny, I'm Stoned"
7. "Wandering Musician"
8. "Hang On To Your Life"

Track Listing
1. "Get Up And Dance"
2. "4 Billion Souls"
3. "Verdilac"
4. "Hardwood Floor"
5. "Good Rockin'"
6. "The Mosquito"
7. "The Piano Bird"
8. "It Slipped My Mind"
9. "The Peking King And The New York Queen"
10. "Treetrunk"*

*CD-only track

# # #