Artist Name
The Cure
Release Date


Robert Smith Curates Reissue Of The Cure’s Dark Masterpiece As A
Three-Disc Deluxe Edition That Includes A Remastered Version Of The Original,
Plus Unreleased Songs, Demos, Outtakes, And Live Performances

Available From Rhino On CD June 8, Digitally On May 25

LOS ANGELES – Despite early concerns that it was too gloomy for radio airplay, The Cure’s eighth studio album, Disintegration, quickly became the group’s most successful. Spurred by two Top 10 hits, “Lullaby” and “Lovesong,” album sales topped more than 3 million as the band sold out stadiums and arenas around the world during its 1989 tour. Rhino reissues this dark tour de force, remastering the original, adding a disc of unreleased outtakes and demos, plus a third disc that contains a live performance of the entire album recorded in 1989 at Wembley Arena. This deluxe edition comes with a 20-page booklet containing previously unseen photos and art, as well as lyrics and an in-depth overview of the period by The Cure’s founder, Robert Smith.

DISINTEGRATION: DELUXE EDITION will be available from Rhino on June 8 (CD)/ May 25 (digital) at all retail outlets, including www.rhino.com, for a suggested list price of $34.98 (CD) and $19.98 (digital). The remastered album will be released the same day on double vinyl for a list price of $24.98.

Smith compiled, produced, and supervised the mastering of this three-disc collection, which covers the evolution of Disintegration, from demos and rehearsals to studio and stage. The first disc contains newly remastered versions of the album’s original 12 tracks.

Gathering 20 unreleased tracks, the second disc trawls through Smith’s home recordings to find early instrumental versions of fan favorites “Pictures Of You,” “Prayers For Rain,” and “Fascination Street.” The band can be heard rehearsing and arranging various instrumental versions, including “Homesick,” “Closedown,” and “The
Same Deep Water As You.” Studio outtakes of several tracks are featured as well— including “Plainsong.” The disc also contains four unreleased songs: “Noheart,” “Esten,” “Delirious Night,” and a cover of Judy Collins’ “Pirate Ships,” the latter a solo performance by Smith that was recorded for, but ultimately not included on, Rubáiyát, a 1990 album celebrating Elektra Records’ 40th anniversary.

For the final disc, Smith remixes and expands Entreat, a live album recorded in 1989 at Wembley Arena during The Cure’s sold-out Prayer Tour. Entreat Plus combines the original’s eight tracks with four more “missing” tracks to create a complete, contemporary live version of Disintegration.


Disc One: Remastered Album
1. “Plainsong”
2. “Pictures Of You”
3. “Closedown”
4. “Lovesong”
5. “Last Dance”
6. “Lullaby”
7. “Fascination Street”
8. “Prayers For Rain”
9. “The Same Deep Water As You”
10. “Disintegration”
11. “Homesick”
12. “Untitled”

Disc Two: Rarities (1988 - 1989)
1. “Prayers For Rain” – RS Home Demo (Instrumental)
2. “Pictures Of You” – RS Home Demo (Instrumental)
3. “Fascination Street” – RS Home Demo (Instrumental)
4. “Homesick” – Band Rehearsal (Instrumental)
5. “Fear Of Ghosts” – Band Rehearsal (Instrumental)
6. “Noheart” – Band Rehearsal (Instrumental)*
7. “Esten” – Band Demo (Instrumental)*
8. “Closedown” – Band Demo (Instrumental)
9. “Lovesong” – Band Demo (Instrumental)
10. “2 Late” (alternate version) – Band Demo (Instrumental)
11. “The Same Deep Water As You” – Band Demo (Instrumental)
12. “Disintegration” – Band Demo (Instrumental)
13. “Untitled” (alternate version) – Studio Rough (Instrumental)
14. “Babble” (alternate version) – Studio Rough (Instrumental)
15. “Plainsong” – Studio Rough (guide vocal)
16. “Last Dance” – Studio Rough (guide vocal)
17. “Lullaby” – Studio Rough (guide vocal)
18. “Out Of Mind” – Studio Rough (guide vocal)
19. “Delirious Night” – Rough Mix (vocal)*
20. “Pirate Ships” – RS Solo, Rough Mix (vocal)*
* Previously Unreleased Song

Disc Three: Entreat Plus
1. “Plainsong”*
2. “Pictures Of You”
3. “Closedown”
4. “Lovesong”*
5. “Last Dance”
6. “Lullaby”*
7. “Fascination Street”
8. “Prayers For Rain”
9. “The Same Deep Water As You”*
10. “Disintegration”
11. “Homesick”
12. “Untitled”
* Previously Unreleased Performance

# # #