Artist Name
Peter, Paul and Mary
Release Date


Live Collection of Unreleased Performances With 12 Songs Never Before Heard
On The Legendary Trio’s Albums Available On November 17 From Rhino

PBS Premieres New Documentary “50 Years with Peter, Paul and Mary” On December 1

LOS ANGELES – In celebration of Peter, Paul and Mary’s fifty years together, Rhino Records is marking this monumental occasion with the release of a collection of thirteen live performances that the trio never recorded on any of its albums. DISCOVERED: LIVE IN CONCERT will be available on November 17 for a suggested list price of $18.98. The album’s music will also be available digitally. Also coming later this year, in celebration of the trio’s fiftieth anniversary will be a new career-spanning documentary debuting on PBS on December 1 at 9:30 p.m EDT (check your local listings). To see a clip of the documentary, please click here. In addition, a new coffee table book Peter, Paul and Mary: 50 Years in Life and Song that tells the inside story of the trio’s career in remarkable photographic images and a self-penned narrative, will be available from Imagine/Charlesbridge in November.

Until now, only fans fortunate enough to see the trio live during the eighties and nineties were able to hear performances of songs like Leadbelly’s “Midnight Special,” Kate Wolf’s plaintive “Give Yourself to Love,” and Noel Paul Stookey’s zany “Parallel Universe.” Only one song on the 13-track collection was previously released: “Mi Caballo Blanco,” which appeared on Peter, Paul and Mary’s 2004 boxed set Carry It On.

It was the creation of that boxed set, in fact, that inspired this collection. In early 1980, Peter, Paul and Mary began to record and archive their concerts. They set aside a number of songs for a potential live album, but the music was shelved and all but forgotten until Noel Paul Stookey discovered the tapes, and found “Mi Caballo Blanco” for the boxed set in addition to the other twelve songs on this CD.

Unaltered and unadorned by later frills or fixes, the energetic performances on DISCOVERED capture the group’s dynamic chemistry on stage. The spirit of Peter, Paul and Mary – the fun, the silliness, the love and respect they had for each other, and their shared convictions – shine throughout this new collection.

In addition, the PBS documentary “50 Years with Peter, Paul and Mary”, set to air on December 1, celebrates the impact of America’s iconic folk trio who brought folk music to the country’s mass audiences by combining their artistry with their activism and inspiration for a period of almost fifty years. The PBS special features powerful, moving, performances by Peter, Paul and Mary starting with the era of the group’s emergence in Greenwich Village through the Civil Rights and anti-war eras where their anthems provided America’s soundtrack of social and political change – and moves into the 21st century where their legacy and music continues to inform, inspire and enrich successive generations – still providing a moral compass for the hopes and aspirations of our country, and the world.

Track Listing

1. “You Can Tell The World”
2. “Give Yourself To Love”
3. “No Choice”
4. “Cactus In A Coffee Can”
5. “Geraldine And Ruthie Mae”
6. “Little Ship”
7. “Mi Caballo Blanco”
8. “Be Right Back”
9. “Space Suits”
10. “Parallel Universe”
11. “Semper Fi”
12. “Show The Way”
13. “Midnight Special”

# # #