Depeche Mode Ultra Singles Boxed Set Available September 10

Artist Name
Depeche Mode
Release Date

Depeche Mode

12” Vinyl Singles Collector's Edition Boxed Set Series Continues With Release Of Ultra | The 12" Singles On September 10


Depeche Mode 12" vinyl singles project continues with the release of ULTRA | THE 12" SINGLES on September 10 and is available for pre-order now. ULTRA | THE 12" SINGLES, a collector's edition deluxe boxed set, contains eight 12" vinyl discs presenting four singles - “Barrel of a Gun,” “It's No Good,” “Home,” and “Useless,” with key B-sides, mixes and live recordings contemporaneous to Depeche Mode's ninth studio album, Ultra, originally released April 14, 1997.


Three of the 12" vinyl discs in ULTRA | THE 12" SINGLES are comprised of tracks first released across CD singles throughout 1997. These new discs feature artwork reflecting the original CD single releases to create newly compiled 12" discs that complement the initial releases.


The group's first album as a trio (Martin Gore, David Gahan, Andrew Fletcher) since 1982's A Broken Frame, Ultra carried on Depeche Mode's tradition of releasing monumental 12" singles to supplement and complement their albums. Ultra premiered essential additions to the DM canon, including "Barrel of a Gun," "It's No Good," "Home," and "Useless."


From their earliest days as a band, Depeche Mode has championed 12" vinyl, embracing the format's singular power and potential for innovation. The 12" single allowed the band to explore new sonic possibilities while the tactile real-world beauty of physical packaging gave Depeche Mode room to develop their sophisticated and commanding design aesthetic. Depeche Mode used their singles discography as a means of offering left-field remixes, rare B-sides, standout concert performances, and other exclusive delights for fans.


Rhino released the first two boxed sets in the Depeche Mode 12" singles series: Speak & Spell | The Singles and A Broken Frame | The Singles--in August 2018 with the second batch--Construction Time Again | The 12" Singles and Some Great Reward | The 12" Singles--arriving in December 2018. Rhino released Depeche Mode's Black Celebration | The 12" Singles and Music For The Masses | The 12" Singles on May 31, 2019. 2020 saw the release of Violator | The 12" Singles in July and Songs of Faith and Devotion | The 12" Singles in October.


Each boxed set in the series contains the singles from each Depeche Mode album on audiophile-quality 12" vinyl, with audio mastered from the original tapes. The artwork for the exterior of each of the box sets draws on iconography inspired by the original releases, while the vinyl sleeves themselves feature the original single artwork.


The Depeche Mode 12" Singles Series will continue over coming years, with plans to release boxes containing the singles from each of the band's albums in similar deluxe audiophile-grade collector's editions.



Track Listing:


Barrel Of A Gun (12BONG 25)

A “Barrel Of A Gun”            

A “Barrel Of A Gun (Underworld Hard Mix)”  

B “Barrel Of A Gun (3 Phase Mix)”                                            

B “Barrel Of A Gun (One Inch Punch Mix (V2))”

B “Barrel Of A Gun (Underworld Soft Mix)”                        


Barrel Of A Gun (L12BONG 25)

A “Painkiller (Plastikman Mix)”                                           

A “Painkiller”                                                                             

B “Barrel Of A Gun (One Inch Punch Mix)”                          

B “Barrel Of A Gun (United Mix)”                                         


It's No Good (12BONG 26)

A “It's No Good (Hardfloor Mix)”      

A “It's No Good (Speedy J Mix)”                              

AA “It's No Good (Motor Bass Mix)”                     

AA “It's No Good (Andrea Parker Mix)”

AA “It's No Good (Dom T Mix)”


*It's No Good (L12BONG 26) (newly compiled additional 12” vinyl single)

A “It's No Good”                      

A “Slowblow”                        

B “Slowblow (Darren Price Mix)”                                            

B “It's No Good (Bass Bounce Mix)”  


Home (12BONG 27)

A “Home (Jedi Knights Remix (Drowning In Time))”         

A “Home (Air "Around The Golf" Remix)”                              

AA “Home (Meant To Be)”                                                   

AA “Home (Grantby Mix)”


*Home (L12BONG 27) (newly compiled additional 12” vinyl single)

A “Home”                                                                               

A “Home (The Noodles And The Damage Done)”                  

B “Barrel Of A Gun (Live)”                                                           

B “It's No Good (Live)”      


Useless (12BONG 28)

A “Useless (The Kruder + Dorfmeister Session™)”                 

AA “Useless (CJ Bolland Funky Sub Mix)”                                

AA “Useless (Air 20 Mix)”                                                          


*Useless (L12BONG 28) (newly compiled additional 12” vinyl single)

A “Useless (Remix)”                                                                     

A “Useless (Escape From Wherever: Parts 1 & 2!)”               

A “Useless (Cosmic Blues)”                                                         

B “Useless (CJ Bolland Ultrasonar Mix)”                               

B “Useless (Live)”                                                                        


 # # #