Coltrane Jazz, Coltrane Plays the Blues, My Favorite Things, Coltrain's Sound

Artist Name
John Coltrane
Release Date


Four Of John Coltrane’s Classic Atlantic Recordings Arrive On 180-Gram Vinyl

Coltrane Jazz And Coltrane Plays The Blues Available Now,
My Favorite Things, And Coltrane’s Sound Available July 27 From Rhino

LOS ANGELES – After John Coltrane’s landmark 1960 Atlantic Records debut Giant Steps, the revered jazz saxophonist recorded a series of groundbreaking albums for the influential label. In just four years, Coltrane released as many albums, including COLTRANE JAZZ, MY FAVORITE THINGS, COLTRANE PLAYS THE BLUES, and COLTRANE’S SOUND.

This summer, Rhino will honor the legacy of John Coltrane by reissuing all four of those albums on 180-gram vinyl, each with their original artwork. Each LP was pressed at RTI with lacquers cut from the original analog masters by Bernie Grundman. COLTRANE JAZZ and COLTRANE PLAYS THE BLUES are available now and MY FAVORITE THINGS and COLTRANE’S SOUND will be available July 27 at retail outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $24.98 each.

The saxophonist unveiled COLTRANE JAZZ (1961) shortly after recording Giant Steps (his first as bandleader) and Kind Of Blue with icon Miles Davis. In fact, a number of tracks from COLTRANE JAZZ feature players from the Kind Of Blue sessions, including pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Jimmy Cobb. “Village Blues” features pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Steve Davis, and drummer Elvin Jones, players who formed the foundation of the renowned quartet Coltrane recorded with during his tenure with Atlantic Records.

Later the same year, MY FAVORITE THINGS arrived with Coltrane’s free jazz interpretations of standards from the Great American Songbook such as the title track (one of Coltrane’s most popular tracks), Cole Porter’s “Everytime We Say Goodbye,” and two George Gershwin selections “Summertime” and “But Not For Me.”

The album’s fertile sessions—three days in October 1960—went on to produce two more stellar albums, beginning with COLTRANE PLAYS THE BLUES (1962). Among the tracks is “Blues To Bechet,” a song for Sidney Bechet, the pioneering jazz saxophonist who inspired Coltrane to play soprano saxophone, an instrument heard throughout this track.

The final album harvested from those legendary sessions, COLTRANE’S SOUND, did not appear until 1964. Eclipsed to a large extent by the release of A Love Supreme the same year, COLTRANE’S SOUND has gained respect over time thanks to exceptional performances of “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes” and the Coltrane originals “Central Park West,” “Liberia,” and “Equinox.”

Side One
1. “Little Old Lady”
2. “Village Blues”
3. “My Shining Hour”
4. “Fifth House”
Side Two
1. “Harmonique”
2. “Like Sonny”
3. “I’ll Wait And Pray”
4. “Some Other Blues”

Side One
1. “My Favorite Things”
2. “Everytime We Say Goodbye”
Side Two
1. “Summertime”
2. “But Not For Me”

Side One
1. “Blues To Elvin”
2. “Blues To Bechet”
3. “Blues To You”
Side Two
1. “Mr. Day”
2. “My. Syms”
3. “Mr. Knight”

Side One
1. “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes”
2. “Central Park West”
3. “Liberia”
Side Two
1. “Body And Soul”
2. “Equinox”
3. “Satellite”