Chicago Transit Authority

Artist Name
Release Date


Rhino Handmade Puts Four On The Floor, Offering Chicago Transit Authority
In True Discrete Quadraphonic Sound for the First Time Ever On
DTS DVD With Four Channels Of 24-Bit, 96 kHz Audio

Pre-Order Now At, Ships Later This Month

LOS ANGELES – For the first time ever, Rhino Handmade will release Chicago’s chart-topping debut in true discrete Quadraphonic sound. Mastered using the original four-track Quad mixes, this music-only DVD offers the band's unique fusion of rock and jazz in all its “quadtastic” glory.

Featuring four channels of 24-bit, 96 kHz audio (down-scalable to 24-bit, 48 kHz), this DTS DVD is to be played in a DVD player with Surround Sound in order to enjoy the Quadraphonic mix as intended. Please note that this release does not include a two-channel stereo mix. Scheduled to ship later this month, CHICAGO TRANSIT AUTHORITY is available for pre-order exclusively at for a suggested list price of $29.98.

One of the earliest offerings of what would later be known as Surround Sound, Quadraphonic sound uses four channels and speakers placed in four corners of a room to create signals that are independent of one another. To learn more, visit Rhino Handmade’s primer on Quadraphonic sound at

CHICAGO TRANSIT AUTHORITY (aka Chicago I) rose to the top of the charts in 1969 with 12 unforgettable tracks, including the hit singles “Beginnings,” “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” and “Questions 67 and 68.” Certified double platinum, this classic double album also contains a cover of Steve Winwood’s “I’m A Man,” “Prologue, August 29, 1968” (recorded at the Democratic convention) and the 15-plus minute live take on “Liberation.” The album also has the unique distinction of having stayed on the charts for an amazing three-year run; a record when it was released in 1969.

More than 40 years after Chicago’s epic debut, the band continues to tour regularly, selling out venues around the world. Just this year, the band earned its 22nd gold album for Rhino’s Best of Chicago 40th Anniversary Edition. The first American rock band to chart Top 40 albums in five decades, Chicago’s far-reaching list of creative and commercial accomplishments includes: a Grammy Award, multiple American Music Awards, record sales in excess of 100,000,000, 21 Top 10 singles, five consecutive Number One albums, with incredible 25 of their 32 albums earning platinum certification.

Track Listing

1. “Introduction”
2. “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?”
3. “Beginnings”
4. “Questions 67 and 68”
5. “Listen”
6. “Poem 58”
7. “Free Form Guitar”
8. “South California Purples”
9. “I’m A Man”
10. “Prologue (August 29, 1968)”
11. “Someday (August 29, 1968)”
12. “Liberation”

# # #