Chicago At Carnegie Hall Complete Deluxe Edition Arrives September 10 From Rhino

Artist Name
Release Date



Chicago Revisits Its Best-Selling Live Album With A 16-CD Deluxe Set That Features All Eight Shows From Its Historic 1971 Carnegie Hall Concert Series, Plus Replicas Of Three Posters Included In The Original, Excerpts From The Concert Program And More


Pre-Order Starts Today Exclusively On For Delivery On September 10


LOS ANGELES – Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees Chicago became the first non-classical group to perform six nights in a row at Carnegie Hall 50 years ago. Between April 5 and 10, 1971, the band played eight shows at the celebrated venue (including two matinees) and recorded every one of them. In October of that year, performance highlights were featured on the band’s first-ever live album, Chicago at Carnegie Hall. That quadruple-LP reached #3 on the Billboard 200, was certified platinum, and is still the band’s best-selling live album.


To honor the 50th anniversary of Chicago’s historic concerts, the band will release all eight Carnegie Hall shows in their entirety for the first time in a new 16-CD deluxe boxed set. CHICAGO AT CARNEGIE HALL COMPLETE will be available on July 16 for $179.98 exclusively through and is available for pre-order now.


Chicago founding member and trumpeter Lee Loughnane and engineer Tim Jessup spent nearly a year meticulously going through more than 40 concert tapes at Loughnane’s new studio in Arizona to remaster each concert. Their hard work paid off with eight fantastic-sounding shows.


CHICAGO AT CARNEGIE HALL COMPLETE is presented in a white folio that’s embossed with the group’s trademark logo. The set beautifully commemorates the event through memorabilia that includes replicas of the three posters that accompanied the original vinyl release and images of the original concert program, tickets, and other memorabilia from the historic run. The collection also comes with a 28-page booklet illustrated with photos from the concerts, plus new liner notes with contributions by Loughnane; archivist Jeff Magid, writer/producer David Wild and comedy icon/Chicago fanatic Jimmy Pardo.


When Chicago arrived in New York City in April 1971 to play eight shows at Carnegie Hall, the band was at the peak of its early experimental period and riding high on the success of the group’s third consecutive platinum album, Chicago III. For these historic shows, the band played a cross-section of hits from their first three studio albums, including “Beginnings,” “Questions 67 and 68,” “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” and “25 or 6 to 4.” The set also includes the previously unheard first songs from the first show, “Someday (August 29, 1968).”


The performances showcase memorable contributions from every band member, including Terry Kath’s stellar guitar work, heartfelt vocals by Kath, Robert Lamm, and Peter Cetera, the vibrant horn work by Loughnane, James Pankow, and Walt Parazaider, as well as the jazz-influenced drumming of Danny Seraphine.


Chicago, known as the “rock band with horns,” is one of the longest-running and best-selling groups of all time. It’s the first American band to ever chart albums in Billboard’s Pop Top 40 in six consecutive decades, the highest charting American band in Billboard’s Hot 100 All-Time Top Artists, and the #4 band on Billboard’s All-Time Top Bands and Duos list. The group’s extensive accomplishments include: two Grammy Awards® and a Lifetime Achievement Award from The Recording Academy, multiple American Music Awards, 11 Number One singles, five consecutive Number One albums, and record sales in excess of 100,000,000, with 47 albums earning gold and platinum certification. Chicago was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2016, and Chicago’s first album, Chicago Transit Authority, was inducted into the GRAMMY® Hall Of Fame in 2014. In 2017, the Songwriters Hall of Fame inducted songwriters Robert Lamm (“25 or 6 to 4”, “Saturday In The Park”) and James Pankow (“Feelin' Stronger Every Day," "Make Me Smile"). 



First Show: April 5, 1971


First Set

Scott Muni Intro

1.    "Someday (August 29, 1968)"

2.    "Loneliness Is Just A Word"

3.    "South California Purples"

4.    "Beginnings"

5.    "Lowdown"

6.    "Mother"

7.    "Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?" (Free Form Intro)

8.    "Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?"

9.    "Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon"

10. "Make Me Smile"

11. "So Much To Say, So Much To Give"

12. "Anxiety’s Moment”

13. “West Virginia Fantasies”

14. “Colour My World”

15. “To Be Free”

16. “Now More Than Ever”


Second Set

1.    “It Better End Soon”

          I.    “1st Movement”

        II.    “2nd Movement”

      III.    “3rd Movement”

      IV.    “4th Movement”

        V.    “5th Movement”

2.    “Fancy Colours”

3.    “In The Country”

4.    “Where Do We Go From Here”

5.    “A Song For Richard And His Friends”

6.    “Sing A Mean Tune Kid”

7.    “Travel Suite 1: Flight 602”

8.    “Travel Suite 2: Motorboat To Mars”

9.    “Travel Suite 3: Free”

10. “25 or 6 to 4”



# # #