Bobby Charles

Artist Name
Bobby Charles
Release Date


Rhino Handmade Spotlights Celebrated Songwriter’s Self-Titled Debut With
Deluxe Three-Disc Edition Featuring The Original Album Remastered And Expanded
With Out-of-Print And Unreleased Recordings, Plus a Rare 1972 Interview

Limited Edition 7” Available With First 500 Copies,
Pre-Order Now Exclusively At Set For Release On August 16

LOS ANGELES – “Swamp pop” pioneer Bobby Charles is perhaps best know for writing songs that became hits for others, like “See You Later Alligator” for Bill Haley and “Walking To New Orleans” for Fats Domino. But in 1971, the Louisiana native moved to Woodstock, New York and recorded an overlooked masterpiece that combines Charles’ Cajun roots with R&B and country influences on ten timeless tracks. Released in 1972 on Bearsville Records, Bobby Charles features Charles leading a session stacked with top-shelf talent, including Mac “Dr. John” Rebennack, pedal steel ace Ben Keith, guitarist Amos Garrett, saxophonist David Sanborn, as well as Levon Helm, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, and Garth Hudson of The Band.

Rhino Handmade shines a spotlight on this “lost” classic with a three-disc Deluxe Edition that combines a remastered version of the original with a wealth of unreleased material recorded during those sessions and others recorded at Bearsville Studios throughout 1974. The set closes with a newly unearthed, 30-minute interview Charles did with Barry Hansen (aka Dr. Demento) that was recorded shortly before the Bobby Charles album was released in August 1972. BOBBY CHARLES – DELUXE EDITION is available now for pre-order exclusively at for a suggested list price of $49.98 and will be available on August 16. The first 500 copies will include a limited edition replica 7” vinyl of Charles’ Bearsville single of “Small Town Talk” b/w “Save Me Jesus.”

Produced by Charles, Danko and John Simon (producer for The Band), the album remains Charles’ most enduring work. A Louisiana vibe is present throughout, steered by the singer’s Cajun accent and relaxed phrasing. Every song feels like a hit – evidence of his natural ear for a good hook. For much of the album, Charles sings about life’s simpler pleasures – the love of a good woman (“Let Yourself Go”); the things he wants to do in life (“Grow Too Old”); the calming power of nature and companionship (“Wild Apple Trees”); and daydreaming of better days (“Tennessee Blues”).

Along with the original album, the first disc also features “New Mexico,” “Homemade Songs,” “Rosie,” and the single version of “Small Town Talk” – four songs that first surfaced on the now out-of-print import, Bearsville Box Set. Four unreleased tracks are also included on the first disc: “Save Me Jesus,” (mono single version); “He’s Got All The Whiskey” (long version); “Don’t Be Surprised” and “You Were There.”

The set’s second disc contains 17 tracks for more than an hour of unreleased music. It begins with four songs from the Bobby Charles sessions: take one of “He’s Got All The Whiskey”; a demo for “New Mexico”; plus a pair of languid country shuffles – “Homemade Songs” and “Done A Lot Of Worse Things” – that rank among Charles’ finest work. The remainder of the disc gathers more than a dozen songs Charles recorded with producer Paul Rothchild at Bearsville Studio in 1974, including the New Orleans pop and R&B of “Better Days,” “Jealous Kind” and “Whatever Happened” and the Southern funk of “Please Please” and “Why Are People Like That.”

Sadly, Charles did not live long enough to see the deluxe reissue of his masterpiece. The Louisiana Music Hall of Fame inductee passed away on January 14, 2010 at the age of 71 after collapsing at his home in Abbeville, Louisiana.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. “Street People”
2. “Long Face”
3. “I Must Be In A Good Place Now”
4. “Save Me Jesus”
5. “He’s Got All The Whiskey”
6. “Small Town Talk”
7. “Let Yourself Go”
8. “Grow Too Old”
9. “I’m That Way”
10. “Tennessee Blues”
11. “Small Town Talk” – Single Version
12. “Save Me Jesus” – Mono Single Version*
13. “He’s Got All The Whiskey” – Long Version*
14. “New Mexico”
15. “Homemade Songs”
16. “Rosie”
17. “Don’t Be Surprised”*
18. “You Were There”*

Disc 2
1. “He’s Got All The Whiskey” – Take 1*
2. “New Mexico” – Demo*
3. “Homemade Songs” – Long Version*
4. “Done A Lot Of Wrong Things”*
5. “Ain’t That Lucky”*
6. “Better Days”*
7. “You Came Along”*
8. “Jealous Kind”*
9. “Whatever Happened”*
10. “Livin’ In Your World”*
11. “Nickles Dimes Dollars”*
12. “Why Are People Like That”*
13. “Please Please”*
14. “Little Town Tramp”*
15. “Keep Cookin’ Mama”*
16. “What Are We Doing?”*
17. “Cowboys And Indians”*

Disc 3
The Bobby Charles Interview*

*Previously Unissued

# # #