Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


As Classic Film Marks Milestone, Rhino Debuts Digital Version of
Deluxe Edition Soundtrack With More Than An Hour of Rare Recordings

Available From Rhino September 29

LOS ANGELES – The Wizard of Oz turned 70 this summer, yet the film has never sounded better. Rhino takes listeners over the rainbow and beyond with its definitive version of the timeless soundtrack, which includes more than an hour of rare outtakes and alternate versions. THE WIZARD OF OZ: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK – DELUXE EDITION will be available digitally for the first time September 29 from Rhino Records at all digital outlets for a suggested list price of $24.99.

The 82-track collection will be released online the same day Warner Home Video unveils the 70th Anniversary Ultimate Collector’s Edition on Blu-Ray, a set that includes a newly restored version of the iconic film starring Judy Garland, Ray Bolger, Jack Haley and Bert Lahr. As part of the film’s anniversary, Rhino is also offering a number of Wizard of Oz ringtones, including “Over The Rainbow,” “We’re Off To See The Wizard” and “The Merry Old Land Of Oz.” Each ringtone is available for a suggested list price of $2.99.

THE WIZARD OF OZ: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK – DELUXE EDITION contains the 1939 film’s entire soundtrack, from Herbert Stothart’s Academy Award®-winning score to unforgettable songs like “Over The Rainbow,” which earned its writers, Harold Arlen and E.Y. “Yip” Harburg, the Academy Award® for Best Song. Other instantly recognizable songs included here are “Ding-Dong The Witch Is Dead,” “We’re Off To See The Wizard” and “Lollipop Guild,” from the memorable Munchkinland medley.

Going beyond the original soundtrack, the Deluxe Edition offers more than an hour of music not featured in the film. Among the rare outtakes are extended versions of “If I Only Had A Brain” and “If I Only Had A Heart”; alternate takes of “Over The Rainbow” and “Ding-Dong The Witch Is Dead”; demos performed by Arlen and Harburg; and an unused version of “If I Only Had A Heart” featuring Buddy Ebsen, who was originally cast as the Tin Man.

The Deluxe Edition also features all the songs cut from the film after it was previewed in 1939. To reduce the film’s two-hour running time, director Victor Fleming and producer Mervyn LeRoy removed several songs, including “Jitterbug” and reprises of “Over the Rainbow” and “Ding-Dong The Witch Is Dead.”

Digital Track Listing

1. “Main Title”
2. “Trouble in School” – Extended Version
3. “Farmyard” – Outtake
4. “Over the Rainbow”
5. “Miss Gulch” – Extended Version
6. “Leaving Home”
7. “Crystal Gazing” – Extended Version
8. “Cyclone” – Extended Version
9. “Munchkinland”
10. “I’m Not a Witch”
11. “Come Out, Come Out...”
12. “It Really Was No Miracle”
13. “We Thank You Very Sweetly”
14. “Ding-Dong the Witch Is Dead”
15. “As Mayor of Munchkin City”
16. “As Coroner, I Must Aver”
17. “Ding-Dong the Witch Is Dead (Reprise)”
18. “Lullaby League”
19. “Lollipop Guild”
20. “We Welcome You to Munchkinland”
21. “Threatening Witch” – Extended "Version
22. “Leaving Munchkinland”
23. “Good Fairy Vanishes”
24. “Follow The Yellow Brick Road/You’re Off To See The Wizard”
25. “Cornfield”
26. “If I Only Had a Brain” – Extended Version
27. “We’re Off To See The Wizard” – Ray Bolger and Judy Garland
28. “Apple Orchard” – Extended Version
29. “If I Only Had a Heart” – Extended Version
30. “Witch on Roof” – Extended Version
31. “Bees & Tin Woodman Lament” – Partial Outtake
32. “We’re Off To See The Wizard” – Ray Bolger, Buddy Ebsen, Judy Garland
33. “Into the Forest of Wild Beasts”
34. “Lion’s Confession” – Outtake
35. “If I Only Had the Nerve”
36. “We’re Off To See The Wizard” – Ray Bolger, Buddy Ebsen, Judy Garland, Bert Lahr
37. “Poppies”
38. “Spell” – Extended Version
39. “Optimistic Voices”
40. “Sign on the Gate/The City Gates Open” – Extended Version
41. “Merry Old Land of Oz”
42. “Change of the Guard/Wizard’s Exit” – Outtake
43. “If I Were King Of The Forest” – Extended Version
44. “At The Gates Of Emerald City” – Extended Version
45. “Magic Smoke Chords”
46. “Terrified Lion”
47. “Haunted Forest” – Extended Version
48. “Jitterbug” – Outtake
49. “Jitterbug’s Attack” – Extended Version
50. “Witch’s Castle” – Extended Version
51. “Toto Brings News/Over The Rainbow (Reprise)” – Extended Version
52. “March Of The Winkies” – Extended Version
53. “Dorothy’s Rescue” – Extended Version
54. “On the Castle Wall” – Extended Version
55. “Ding-Dong! Emerald City” – Outtake
56. “Wizard’s Exposé/Emerald City Graduation Exercises” – Extended Version
57. “Fill-In Awards/I Was Floating Through Space/Balloon Ascension”
58. “I Hereby Decree”
59. “Delirious Escape/Delirious Escape Continued/End Title” – Extended Version
60. “Main Title” – Alternate Take with Unused Tag
61. “Over the Rainbow” – Partial Take
62. “Over the Rainbow” – Alternate Take
63. “Cyclone” – Final Film Version
64. “Munchkinland Insert” – Alternate Take
65. “I’m Not a Witch” – Alternate Version
66. “Munchkinland Musical Sequence” – Rehearsal Demo
67. “Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead” – Alternate/A Cappella Choir Version
68. “Lollipop Guild” – Original Munchkin Actors’ Voices
69. “Follow the Yellow Brick Road/You’re off to See the Wizard” – Orchestral
70. “If I Only Had a Brain” – Unused Dance Music
71. “If I Only Had a Heart” – Unused Version
72. “Lion’s Confession” – Alternate Arrangement
73. “Poppies” – Alternate Version with Heavenly Choir
74. “Optimistic Voices” – Rehearsal Demo
75. “Optimistic Voices” – Alternate Vocal Arrangement
76. “Merry Old Land of Oz” – Orchestral Angles
77. “If I Were King of the Forest” – Alternate Voice Tag, Excerpt
78. “If I Were King of the Forest” – Alternate Vocal Tag
79. “Jitterbug” – Choreography Rehearsal
80. “Over the Rainbow (Reprise)” – Alternate Version, Outtake
81. “Ding-Dong! Emerald City” – Alternate Version
82. “End Title” – Alternate Version

# # #