The Sire Years

Artist Name
The Replacements
Release Date


This Limited Edition Set Highlights All Four Studio
Albums The Band Recorded For Sire Records Between 1985-90

Available From Rhino On "Vinyl Tuesday" March 29

LOS ANGELES - Last summer, Rhino introduced a limited edition vinyl boxed set that brought together all of the albums The Replacements recorded with Twin/Tone Records. This year, Rhino will release the highly anticipated companion, a new four-LP collection that features all four of the studio albums the band recorded for Sire Records between 1985-90, including: Tim (1985), Pleased To Meet Me, (1987), Don't Tell A Soul (1989) and All Shook Down (1990).

In conjunction with Record Store Day's "Vinyl Tuesday" initiative, THE SIRE YEARS will be available on Tuesday, March 29 for a suggested list price of $74.98. Production of the set will be limited to 8,700 numbered copies. As a special promotion - a number of fans who pre-order the collection from select independent stores will also receive an exclusive 7" featuring "Can't Hardly Wait (The Tim Version)" b/w "Portland," both previously unreleased on vinyl - while supplies last.

Award-winning music critic Bob Mehr provides the definitive backstory behind the music heard on THE SIRE YEARS in his epic, new band biography, Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements (in stores March 1). He writes: "Signing to Warner's Sire Records, the Replacements became one of the first indie bands to make the transition to the major label world, winning converts thanks to Westerberg's rapidly maturing songwriting on records like Tim and Pleased to Meet Me."

Without a doubt, the albums collected on THE SIRE YEARS helped secure The Replacements' reputation as one of the greatest rock and roll bands of all time.

Tim (1985) introduced fans to instant classics like "Kiss Me On The Bus" and the anthemic "Bastards Of Young." Pleased To Meet Me (1987) - the first without founding guitarist Bob Stinson - won raves for tracks like "Alex Chilton," "Skyway" and "Can't Hardly Wait." Guitarist Slim Dunlap joined the band in the studio for the first time on Don't Tell A Soul (1989), which includes "I'll Be You," the group's highest-charting single. The band's final album, All Shook Down (1990),stands as one of the most poetic and enduring epilogues in rock history, boasting such killer tracks as "Someone Take the Wheel" and "Sadly Beautiful," and the Grammy® nominated "When It Began."

Track Listing

1. "Hold My Life"
2. "I'll Buy"
3. "Kiss Me On The Bus"
4. "Dose Of Thunder"
5. "Waitress In The Sky"
6. "Swingin Party"
7. "Bastards Of Young"
8. "Lay It Down Clown"
9. "Left Of The Dial"
10. "Little Mascara"
11. "Here Comes A Regular"

1. "Talent Show"
2. "Back To Back"
3. "We'll Inherit The Earth"
4. "Achin' To Be"
5. "They're Blind"
6. "Anywhere's Better Than Here"
7. "Asking Me Lies"
8. "I'll Be You"
9. "I Won't"
10. "Rock 'N' Roll Ghost"
11. "Darlin' One"

1. "I.O.U."
2. "Alex Chilton"
3. "I Don't Know"
4. "Nightclub Jitters"
5. "The Ledge"
6. "Never Mind"
7. "Valentine"
8. "Shooting Dirty Pool"
9. "Red Red Wine"
10. "Skyway"
11. "Can't Hardly Wait"

1. "Merry Go Round"
2. "One Wink At A Time"
3. "Nobody"
4. "Bent Out Of Shape"
5. "Sadly Beautiful"
6. "Someone Take The Wheel"
7. "When It Began"
8. "All Shook Down"
9. "Attitude"
10. "Happy Town"
11. "Torture"
12. "My Little Problem"
13. "The Last"

# # #