Rhino Celebrates Summer Of Love 50th Anniversary With Vinyl Re-Issues And New Compilations From Grateful Dead, The Monkees And More

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


Rhino Celebrates The 50th Anniversary Of The Cultural Phenomenon With Several
Vinyl Re-Issues, Plus New Compilations From Grateful Dead, The Monkees, and More

The First Releases Arrive On July 11

LOS ANGELES – The summer of 1967 was a turning point in popular culture that drew as many as 100,000 young people to San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury neighborhood. It represented a social convergence driven by free thinking, hippie fashion, political upheaval, sexual freedom, drug use and creative expression. As the movement spread around the world, it led to an outpouring of poetry, artwork, and especially music. 

In July, Rhino will launch its 50th anniversary celebration of the Summer of Love with vinyl re-issues of key albums from that era along with new compilations that provide a soundtrack to this defining moment of the Sixties.

The Grateful Dead were at the epicenter of the Haight-Ashbury scene and the band is well-represented during the celebration with Smiling On A Cloudy Day. This new compilation brings together 10 songs from the band’s early psychedelic period and includes tracks like “Morning Dew,” “China Cat Sunflower” and “St. Stephen.” The collection will be released on LP ($21.98) and CD ($7.98) on July 11.

More releases will arrive on July 11, including The Best of Peter, Paul & Mary: Ten Years Together ($21.98) and the mono version of Love’s self-titled debut ($21.98). Other releases include colored vinyl editions of The Association’s Insight Out ($21.98), The Young Rascals Groovin’ ($21.98) and The Beau Brummels’ Triangle ($21.98). 

The next group of releases comes out on July 18 and features the mono version of Alice’s Restaurant by Arlo Guthrie ($24.98), The Electric Prune’s eponymous debut on purple vinyl ($21.98), Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks on clear vinyl ($24.98) and Vanilla Fudge’s self-titled debut on white vinyl ($21.98). 

A new compilation from The Monkees will also be released the same day. Summer of Love includes 12 tracks that focus on the group’s lesser-known psychedelic side. The collection will be released on LP ($21.98) and CD ($7.98). The LP Gettin’ Together: Groovy Sounds of the Summer of Love will also be released on July 18 for $14.98. Its 16 tracks spotlight memorable hits from 1967 like “Hip Hug-Her” by Booker T. & The M.G.’s, “You Keep Me Hanging On” by Vanilla Fudge and “Windy” by The Association. 

The final round of releases from this Sumer of Love celebration will arrive on July 25 and includes Dusty In Memphis by Dusty Springfield ($24.98), Goodbye and Hello by Tim Buckley ($24.98) and the mono version Aretha Arrives by Aretha Franklin ($24.98). In addition, Wildflowers by Judy Collins will be pressed on translucent yellow vinyl ($21.98) and The Zodiac’s Cosmic Sounds will be pressed on glow-in-the-dark vinyl ($17.98).

And last, but certainly not least, is a new Nuggets collection – Transparent Days: West Coast Nuggets ($31.98). Pressed on transparent vinyl, this two-LP collection includes 30 songs by artists like The Peanut Butter Conspiracy (“Time Is After You,”) The Mojo Men (“She’s My Baby,”) M.C. 2 (“Smiling”) and Love (“Your Mind & We Belong Together”).

LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)”
2.    “Cream Puff War”
3.    “Morning Dew”
4.    “That’s It For The Other One”
5.    “Born Cross-Eyed”

Side Two
1.    “Dark Star” 
2.    “St. Stephen”
3.    “China Cat Sunflower”
4.    “Doin’ That Rag”
5.    “Cosmic Charlie”

LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “Pleasant Valley Sunday”
2.    “She”
3.    “Porpoise Song” – Single Version
4.    “Words”
5.    “Star Collector”
6.    “Birth Of An Accidental Hipster”

Side Two
1.    “Take A Giant Step”
2.    “Love Is Only Sleeping”
3.    “Randy Scouse Git”
4.    “Tapioca Tundra”
5.    “Saturday’s Child”
6.    “For Pete’s Sake”

LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “Groovin’” – The Young Rascals
2.    “Windy” – The Association
3.    “The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)” – Harper’s Bizarre
4.    “Bowling Green” – The Everly Brothers
5.    “The Windows Of The World” – Dionne Warwick
6.    “Next Plane To London” – The Rose Garden
7.    “Carrie-Anne” – The Hollies
8.    “It’s A Happening World” – The Tokens

Side Two
1.    “Pleasant Valley Sunday” – The Monkees
2.    “Sit Down, I Think I Love You” – The Mojo Men
3.    “Transparent Day” – The West Coast Pop Experimental Band
4.    “C’mon Marianne” – The 4 Seasons featuring the “sound” of Frankie Valli
5.    “Hip Hug-Her” – Booker T. & The M.G.’s
6.    “Gettin’ Together” – Tommy James & The Shondells
7.    “I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night) – The Electric Prunes
8.    “You Keep Me Hanging On” – Vanilla Fudge

2LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “Transparent Day” – The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band
2.    “Time Is After You” – The Peanut Butter Conspiracy
3.    “Linda’s Gone” – The West Coast Branch
4.    “I Could Be Happy” – The Dovers
5.    “My Race Is Run – The Motleys
6.    “The Happiness Song” – Gerry Pond
7.    “Here’s Today” – The Rose Garden
8.    “Bye Bye Bye” (Warner Bros. Single Version) – The Tikis
Side Two
1.    “Make It Easy” – The Collectors
2.    “I’ll Sell My Soul” – The Allies
3.    “Goin’ Down” – The Waphphle
4.    “Out Of Sight Out Of Mind” – Limey & The Yanks
5.    “Where You Gonna Go” – Art Guy
6.    “Got Love” – The Front Line
7.    “She’s My Baby” – The Mojo Men
8.    “Going Home” – Butch Engle & The Styx
Side Three
1.    “Pandora’s Golden Heebie Jeebies” – The Association
2.    “If You Could Be Him Instead” – Wayne Stewart
3.    “Candlestickmaker” – Ron Elliott
4.    “Smiling” – M.C. 2
5.    “Momentarily Gone” – The Truth
6.    “Degeneration Gap” – Tandyn Almer
7.    “Baby Please Don’t Go” – The Ballroom
Side Four
1.    “Come Alive” – Things To Come
2.    “House Of Glass” – The Glass Family
3.    “The Eagle Never Hunts The Fly” – The Bonniwell Music Machine
4.    “Dawn Lights The Way” – Clear Light
5.    “Shadows” – The Electric Prunes
6.    “Changes (Tygstl)” – The Ceyleib People
7.    “Your Mind & We Belong Together” – Love

# # #