It's Kind Of A Funny Story - Music From The Motion Picture

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


Rhino’s Soundtrack To It’s Kind Of A Funny Story Juxtaposes Diverse Indie Artists

Broken Social Scene Contributes New Song And Instrumental Score Selection Composed For The Comedy-Drama

Soundtrack Available September 28; Movie Opens October 8

LOS ANGELES – It’s Kind Of A Funny Story is the new comedy-drama from acclaimed writer/directors Ryan Fleck & Anna Boden (Half Nelson, Sugar), adapted from Ned Vizzini’s 2006 novel of the same name. Focus Features releases the movie in cities across the country on October 8; the stars are Keir Gilchrist, Emma Roberts, Viola Davis, Lauren Graham, Jim Gaffigan, Zoë Kravitz, and Zach Galifianakis.

Prior to the film’s debut, Rhino Records will release its soundtrack on September 28. Canadian indie-rock collective Broken Social Scene composed original music for the film, including the new track “Not At My Best.” Additionally, the Broken Social Scene instrumental score track “Sweet Number One” will be available exclusively on the iTunes Store. IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY - MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE will be available at all retail outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $13.98 (CD) and $9.99 (digital).

IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY juxtaposes a diverse selection of styles and artists ranging from The Damned’s punk classic “Smash It Up” to pianist Maxence Cyrin’s classical cover of “Where Is My Mind,” from Rachid Taha’s Arabic folk to The Wowz’ “antifolk.” The collection encompasses hip-hop, with Method Man & Redman’s “Da Rockwilder;” neo-soul, with Mayer Hawthorne’s “The Ills;” psychedelic rock, with Pink Mountaintops’ “Tourist In Your Town;” and indie-pop, with “Blood” by Australian collective The Middle East. Along with the newly released song by Broken Social Scene, “Major Label Debut (Fast),” from the group’s 2005 EP To Be You And Me, is included.

What’s a 16-year-old boy doing playing music and table tennis with adult psychiatric patients – on a school day? It’s kind of a funny story…It’s @5:00 A.M. on a Sunday in Brooklyn. Craig Gilner (played by Keir Gilchrist of United States of Tara) is bicycling up to the entrance of a mental health clinic; this bright 16-year-old is stressed out from the demands of being a teenager. Before his parents (Lauren Graham [of Parenthood] and Jim Gaffigan [of Away We Go]) and younger sister are even awake, Craig checks himself into Argenon Hospital and is admitted by a psychiatrist. But the youth ward is temporarily closed – so he finds himself stuck in the adult ward.

One of the patients, Bobby (Zach Galifianakis of The Hangover), soon becomes both Craig’s mentor and protégé. Craig is also quickly drawn to another 16-year-old displaced to the adult ward, the sensitive Noelle (Emma Roberts of the upcoming Scream 4), who just might make him forget his longtime unrequited crush Nia (Zoë Kravitz of the upcoming Mad Max). With a minimum five days’ stay imposed on him by the adult ward’s staff psychiatrist Dr. Eden Minerva (Academy Award nominee Viola Davis), Craig is sustained by friendships on both the inside and the outside as he learns more about life, love, and the pressures of growing up.

Track Listing

1. “Not At My Best” – Broken Social Scene*
2. “Smash It Up” – The Damned
3. “Happy Today” – The Wowz
4. “Icarus” – White Hinterland
5. “Where You Go” – Elden Calder
6. “The Ills” – Mayer Hawthorne
7. “Da Rockwilder” – Method Man & Redman
8. “Tourist In Your Town” – Pink Mountaintops
9. “Where Is My Mind” – Maxence Cyrin
10. “Blood” – The Middle East
11. “Check Me Out” – Little Denise
12. “Habina” – Rachid Taha
13. “Major Label Debut (Fast)” – Broken Social Scene
14. “Sweet Number One” – Broken Social Scene*†

* Previously Unreleased
† iTunes Exclusive