En Vogue Kicks Off 30th Anniversary With Born To Sing Expanded Edition Available April 3

Artist Name
En Vogue
Release Date


An Expanded And Remastered Version Of The Group’s Platinum 
1990 Debut Born To Sing Will Be Available Digitally From Rhino On April 3 

En Vogue Will Be Featured In An Episode Of Empire That Airs Tonight, March 17 

Rare B-side “Mover” Available Today

LOS ANGELES – Thirty years ago, on April 3rd, En Vogue started its reign as one of the most successful female vocal groups of all time. The EV30 celebration gets off to an early start tonight with an appearance on the groundbreaking hit music drama Empire, currently in its sixth and final season. Even sweeter, their performance of “My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It)” is featured in an episode where series star Taraji P. Henson makes her directorial debut. Today, En Vogue is releasing the first song “Mover,” a rare Japanese-only B-side which can be found on all digital platforms. 

Soon after, Rhino will revisit En Vogue’s 1990 debut album on BORN TO SING: 30th ANNIVERSARY EXPANDED EDITION. This 21-track collection includes a newly remastered version of the original album, plus a selection of rare mixes, most of which are available digitally for the first time. The music will be available on April 3 for $14.99, the same day the original album was released in 1990. 

With Born to Sing, En Vogue struck a chord immediately, landing three songs at #1 on the Hot R&B songs chart: “Hold On,” “Lies” and “You Don’t Have To Worry.” Certified platinum, the album was a crossover sensation, reaching #21 on the Billboard 200 chart and #3 on the R&B Albums chart. In addition, the album scored the group numerous honors, including a Billboard Music Award and a Soul Train Award, as well as a Grammy® nomination. 

As an added treat, this newly remastered, 30th ANNIVERSARY EXPANDED EDITION version of Born to Sing also features remastered versions of nine non-album tracks, including an extended version of “Hold On,” the radio edit for “Don’t Go,” and the Lo Cal Mix of “You Don’t Have to Worry.” 

Since the group’s Born To Sing debut in 1990, En Vogue, founded in Oakland, CA by Denzil Foster and Thomas McElroy with original members Terry Ellis, Cindy Herron, Dawn Robinson and Maxine Jones, has gone on to sell 20 million albums and still counting. Their many accolades include Billboard awards, American Music Awards, VMAs, and seven Grammy nominations. 

Firmly establishing their legacy, En Vogue, now a trio, with original members Ellis and Herron, joined by Rhona Bennett, who has been with the group since 2003, is still in demand, actively touring and recording. In 2018, they released their album, Electric Café, featuring the single “Rocket,” which gave them their first Top 5 hit in 20 years (Adult R&B songs chart). The trio also made an appearance on Chance the Rapper’s 2019 album, The Big Day, on the track “I Got You (Always and Forever).” In October 2019, all five members reunited and performed at the City of Hope Gala honoring Sylvia Rhone. 
Track Listing:

1.      “Party”
2.      “Strange”
3.      “Lies”
4.      “Hip Hop Bugle Boy”
5.      “Hold On”
6.      “Part of Me”
7.      “You Don’t Have to Worry”
8.      “Time Goes On”
9.      “Just Can’t Stay Away”
10.   “Don’t Go”
11.   “Luv Lines”
12.   “Waitin’ on You”
13.   “Hold On” (Extended Version)
14.   “Lies” (The Extended Avant Garde Remix)
15.   “You Don’t Have to Worry” (Club New Breed Remix)
16.   “Don’t Go” (Radio Edit)
17.   “Desperately” (featuring En Vogue)
18.   “You Don’t Have to Worry” (Lo Cal Mix)
19.   “Lies” (Kwame's Bone Age Remix)
20.   “Hold On” (Dub Version)
21.   “Mover” (B-Side) 

# # #

About En Vogue:
Recognized as one of the top 5 highest selling American female music groups in history En Vogue, currently consisting of Cindy Heron-Braggs, Terry Ellis and Rhona Bennett has sold over 20 million albums, and effortlessly transitioned into the digital age, amassing over 30 million streams and over 26 million YouTube views on their top 6 hit singles alone: the R&B and Pop smashes Hold On, Free Your Mind, Never Gonna Get It, Giving Him Something He Can Feel, Don’t Let Go, and Whatta Man feat. Salt N Pepa). The group has won seven MTV Video Music Awards, three Soul Train Awards, two American Music Awards, and received seven Grammy nominations.