Buffalo Springfield Albums Remastered For New Boxed Set On June 29

Artist Name
Buffalo Springfield
Release Date


Boxed Set Includes Stereo Mixes Of The Band's Three Studio Albums,
Plus Mono Mixes For Buffalo Springfield And Buffalo Springfield Again

High Resolution Streaming And Downloads Will Be Available Through

CD And Limited-Edition Vinyl Sets Will Be Available On June 29 From Rhino,
In Celebration Of The 50th Anniversary Of Buffalo Springfield's Final Concert

Listen To The Newly Remastered Version Of "For What It's Worth" HERE

LOS ANGELES - Before playing its final show on May 5, 1968, Buffalo Springfield released three studio albums on ATCO during an intense, two-year creative burst. Those albums - Buffalo Springfield, Buffalo Springfield Again, and Last Time Around - have been newly remastered from the original analog tapes under the auspices of Neil Young for the new boxed set: WHAT'S THAT SOUND? THE COMPLETE ALBUMS COLLECTION.

The set includes stereo mixes of all three albums, plus mono mixes for Buffalo Springfield and Buffalo Springfield Again, and will be available on June 29 from Rhino as a five-CD set for $39.98 and will also be on digital download and streaming services. High resolution streaming and downloads will be available through www.neilyoungarchives.com.

On the same date, the albums will also be released - for the first time ever - on 180-gram vinyl as part of a limited-edition set of 5,000 copies for $114.98. The 5-LP box features the same mono and stereo mixes as the CD set, presented in sleeves and gatefolds that faithfully re-create the original releases. 

Stephen Stills, Neil Young, Richie Furay, Bruce Palmer and Dewey Martin played their first show together as Buffalo Springfield in 1966. The same year, the band recorded and released its self-titled debut, which included the iconic protest song, "For What It's Worth," featuring lyrics as poignant now as they were then, in addition to standouts like "Burned," "Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It," and the band's first single, "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing."

The group spent the first half of 1967 making Buffalo Springfield Again, which was the first album to feature songs written by Furay ("A Child's Claim To Fame.") Stills and Young both contributed some all-time classics with "Bluebird" and "Rock And Roll Woman" from Stills, and "Mr. Soul" and "Expecting To Fly" from Young.

When Last Time Around came out in July 1968, the band members were in the midst of transitioning to new projects: Stills famously joined David Crosby and Graham Nash in CSN; Young went solo; and Furay started Poco with Jim Messina, who produced Last Time Around and played bass on two of the songs. Highlights abound on the album with Young's "I Am A Child," Furay's "Kind Woman" and Stills' "Uno Mundo." 

Buffalo Springfield (1966)

1.         "Go And Say Goodbye"
2.         "Sit Down I Think I Love You"
3.         "Leave"
4.         "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing"
5.         "Hot Dusty Roads"
6.         "Everybody's Wrong"
7.         "Flying On The Ground Is Wrong"
8.         "Burned"
9.         "Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It"
10.       "Baby Don't Scold Me"
11.       "Out Of My Mind"
12.       "Pay The Price"
13.       "For What It's Worth"

Buffalo Springfield Again (1967)

1.         "Mr. Soul"
2.         "A Child's Claim To Fame"
3.         "Everydays"
4.         "Expecting To Fly"
5.         "Bluebird"
6.         "Hung Upside Down"
7.         "Sad Memory"
8.         "Good Time Boy"
9.         "Rock And Roll Woman"
10.       "Broken Arrow"

Last Time Around (1968)

1.         "On The Way Home"
2.         "It's So Hard To Wait"
3.         "Pretty Girl Why"
4.         "Four Days Gone"
5.         "Carefree Country Day"
6.         "Special Care"
7.         "The Hour Of Not Quite Rain"
8.         "Questions"
9.         "I Am A Child"
10.       "Merry-Go-Round"
11.       "Uno Mundo"
12.       "Kind Woman"

# # #