Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


Rhino Presents Soundtrack To Latest Jason Reitman Film, Including
CSNY, Elliott Smith, Dan Auerbach, Sad Brad Smith, And Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

Available From Rhino December 1

LOS ANGELES – Paramount Pictures presents in association with Cold Springs Pictures and DW Studios Up In The Air, a film by Jason Reitman – the Oscar®-nominated director of Juno. Due in theaters nationwide this December, the film stars George Clooney as Ryan Bingham, a corporate downsizer and consummate modern business traveler who, after years of staying happily airborne, suddenly finds himself ready to make a real connection. Rhino fastens its seat belt for the film’s musical journey with a collection of songs compiled by Reitman, who previously won a Grammy® for the Juno soundtrack. UP IN THE AIR: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE will be available December 1 from Rhino Records at all retail outlets, including www.rhino.com, for a suggested list price of $13.98 (physical) and $9.99 (digital).

The soundtrack, Reitman says, is like a character in the film. “I start thinking about the music very early on. While I’m writing the script, I’m putting together a matching iTunes library. The result is a collection of songs that speaks to the nature of travel and warmth of human connection.”

The film and soundtrack both open with a funky, contemporary cover of Woody Guthrie’s working-class American classic “This Land Is Your Land” by Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings. “It’s a really lovely, soulful entrance to the journey of this film about the American landscape,” Reitman says.

UP IN THE AIR includes two previously unreleased tracks with unique personal connections to Reitman. The first is “Help Yourself” by Chicago-based singer-songwriter Sad Brad Smith. Reitman discovered Smith through his brother-in-law, who became a fan after seeing a performance by Smith at a Chicago coffee shop. The second track, “Up In The Air” by Kevin Renick, was personally handed to Reitman on a cassette during a speaking engagement in St. Louis. A recently laid off Renick had heard Reitman was working on a film adaptation to the popular book and had written this song with the story in mind. The track, complete with Renick’s spoken word introduction included on the original cassette, now plays over the end credits.

The soundtrack also includes “Thank You Lord,” from legendary guitarist Roy Buchanan’s 1973 Second Album; Elliott Smith’s “Angel In The Snow” from his posthumous collection of unreleased music; “Goin’ Home,” a solo track by Dan Auerbach, half of the Black Keys; “The Snow Before Us” by San Francisco trio Charles Atlas; plus two appearances by Graham Nash, with CSNY on “Taken At All” and solo on “Be Yourself” from 1971’s Songs For Beginners. Along with the featured songs, UP IN THE AIR also includes two tracks from Rolfe Kent’s musical score.

Track Listing

1. “This Land Is Your Land” – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
2. “Security Ballet” – Rolfe Kent
3. “Goin’ Home” – Dan Auerbach
4. “Taken At All” – CSNY
5. “Angel In The Snow” – Elliott Smith
6. “Help Yourself” – Sad Brad Smith
7. “Genova” –Charles Atlas
8. “Lost In Detroit” – Rolfe Kent
9. “Thank You Lord” – Roy Buchanan
10. “Be Yourself” – Graham Nash
11. “The Snow Before Us” – Charles Atlas
12. “Up In The Air” – Kevin Renick

# # #