Sepultura Arise Expanded Edition Available June 15 From Rhino

Artist Name
Release Date


CD And Vinyl Sets Feature Newly Remastered Version Of The Original Album Expanded With Rare And Unreleased Studio And Live Recordings

Available June 15 From Rhino

LOS ANGELES – Sepultura hit its stride in 1991 when the Brazilian quartet released its acclaimed fourth record, Arise. Certified platinum based on worldwide sales, the album includes indispensable thrash/death metal tracks like “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)” and “Dead Embryonic Cells.”

Rhino will revisit this raucous classic with a remastered version of the original album that’s been expanded with rare and unreleased studio and live recordings. ARISE: EXPANDED EDITION will be available on June 15 as a double-disc set for $19.98. A double-LP version that features an abbreviated track listing will be available on the same day for $31.98. The music will also be available digitally and via streaming services.

In 1983, brothers Max and Igor Cavalera founded Sepultura.  Paulo Xisto Pinto Jr. joined soon after, and Andreas Kisser later joined as lead guitarist, rounding out the band’s earlier lineup. They have since sold nearly 20 million albums worldwide, including more than three million in the United States.

Following the breakthrough success of 1989’s Beneath The Remains, the band regrouped in Florida to record Arise with producer Scott Burns. Thrash and death metal were the album’s primary sources of inspiration, but tracks like “Desperate Cry” revealed the band’s love for hardcore punk, while the tribal rhythms of “Altered State” foreshadowed a new direction the band would explore on future albums.

ARISE: EXPANDED EDITION features a newly remastered version of the original album along with 28 bonus tracks. Many of those have never been released, including an industrial remix of “Dead Embryonic Cells,” “Meaningless Movements” from an August 1989 writing session, and a cover of Motorhead’s “Orgasmatron.”

Previously unreleased highlights from the second disc include a version of “Infected Voice” from writing sessions that took place in March 1990, as well as basic tracks for “Murder,” “Altered State” and more. The disc also features the CD debut of eight concert recordings originally released on the band’s first home video, Under Seige (Live In Barcelona), including “Arise,” “Dead Embryonic Cells” and “Beneath The Remains.”

To fit onto a double-LP, the vinyl version of ARISE: EXPANDED EDITION features a condensed track listing. It includes the 2018 remastered version of the original album, along with a selection of 10 bonus tracks from the CD set.

CD Track Listing:

Disc One: 2018 Remaster

  1. “Arise”
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells”
  3. “Desperate Cry”
  4. “Murder”
  5. “Subtraction”
  6. “Altered State”
  7. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)”
  8. “Meaningless Movements”
  9. “Infected Voice”

Bonus Tracks

  1. “Orgasmatron” – Studio Version
  2. “Intro” – Instrumental
  3. “C.I.U. (Criminals in Uniform)”
  4. “Desperate Cry” – Scott Burns Mix
  5. “Drug Me”

Arise Rough Mixes

  1. “Dead Embryonic Cells” – Rough Mix*
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells” – Industrial Remix*

Arise Writing Sessions (August 1989)

  1. “For Our Own Good (C.U.I.)” *
  2. “Murder” *
  3. “Altered State” *

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks

Arise Writing Sessions (March 1990)

  1. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)” *
  2. “Meaningless Movements” *
  3. “Infected Voice” *

Arise Basic Tracks

  1. “Altered State” *
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells” *
  3. “Desperate Cry” *
  4. “Infected Voice” *
  5. “Meaningless Movements” *
  6. “Murder” *
  7. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)” *

Under Siege (Live In Barcelona 1991)

  1. “Arise” – Previously Unreleased on CD
  2. “Desperate Cry” – Previously Unreleased on CD
  3. “Dead Embryonic Cells” – Previously Unreleased on CD
  4. “Mass Hypnosis”
  5. “Inner Self”
  6. “Troops Of Doom”
  7. “Beneath The Remains” – Previously Unreleased on CD
  8. “Orgasmatron”

LP Track Listing

Side One

  1. “Arise”
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells”
  3. “Desperate Cry”
  4. “Murder”
  5. “Subtraction”

Side Two

  1. “Altered State”
  2. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)”
  3. “Meaningless Movements”
  4. “Infected Voice”

Side Three

  1. “Arise” – Live
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells” – Industrial Remix *
  3. “Desperate Cry” – Live
  4. “Murder” – Writing Session 1989 *
  5. “Murder” – Basic Track

Side Four

  1. “Altered State” – Basic Track *
  2. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)” – Basic Track *
  3. “Meaningless Movements” – Writing Session 1990 *
  4. “Infected Voice” – Writing Session 1990 *
  5. “Orgasmatron” – Studio Version

* previously unreleased


# # #