Rhino Celebrates Stax Records 60th Anniversary With Stax Classics Collections And Vinyl Reissues

Artist Name
Various Artists
Release Date


A Year-Long Salute To The Iconic Soul Label Begins Today

With Stax Classics Collections That Spotlight Essential Tracks From
Otis Redding, Carla Thomas, Sam & Dave, And Booker T. & The M.G.’s

Rhino Will Also Reissue Several Classic Stax Albums On Vinyl This Summer

LOS ANGELES – Rhino Entertainment has partnered with Concord Music Group to celebrate Stax Records’ 60th anniversary. This year-long salute to the iconic soul label will include curated collections of timeless hits from the legendary artists who helped the Memphis-based label earn its nickname, Soulsville U.S.A.

The celebration begins today with the launch of the STAX CLASSICS series. Each wallet-friendly collection will spotlight a single artist with 12 essential tracks and insightful new liner notes. The first four from Rhino celebrate the influential careers of Otis Redding, Carla Thomas, Sam & Dave and Booker T. & The M.G.’s. These albums are available now on CD and at digital retailers for $9.98 each. In addition, the music is available via digital download and streaming services. Concord also releases STAX CLASSICS titles today from William Bell, The Dramatics, Isaac Hayes, Albert King, The Staple Singers, and Johnnie Taylor.

Carla Thomas was Stax Records’ first star and the STAX CLASSICS: CARLA THOMAS collection highlights her soul-pop gems like “B-A-B-Y” and “I Like What Your Doing (To Me).” Also included are the hits “Cause I Love You” — one of many songs she recorded with her father Rufus Thomas — as well as “Tramp,” her scorching 1966 duet with Otis Redding.

Otis Redding was an R&B supernova whose body of work helped transform Stax from a small record label into a musical institution. STAX CLASSICS: OTIS REDDING distills his incredible discography down to bona fide soul classics like “Try A Little Tenderness,” “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)” and “Respect,” which was later immortalized by Aretha Franklin. Naturally, the collection also includes “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay,” a posthumous release that topped both the R&B and pop charts.

The soul duo of Sam Moore and Dave Prater recorded a cavalcade of memorable R&B hits for the label beginning in 1965. STAX CLASSICS: SAM & DAVE touches on many of their greatest hits, including “Hold On! I’m A Comin’” and “You Don’t Know Like I Know.” The compilation also features the dynamic duo’s signature anthem, “Soul Man,” which reached #1 on the R&B chart and #2 on the pop chart in 1967.

Booker T. & The M.G.’s was the house band and the bedrock of Stax Records. Along with providing the musical backdrop for everyone on the label, the four-piece scored a series of hits with their unique soulful instrumentals. STAX CLASSICS: BOOKER T. & THE M.G.’S spotlights irresistible grooves like “Hip Hug-Her” and “Time Is Tight.” The collection also features the band’s unforgettable #1 smash, “Green Onions.”

Rhino will continue the Stax anniversary celebration over the summer as it re-issues several stellar albums on 180-gram vinyl for $21.98 each.

The first wave arrives on June 23 and includes: Green Onions by Booker T. & The M.G.’s, Walking The Dog by Rufus Thomas, and Soul Men by Sam & Dave. A special 50th anniversary edition of King and Queen by Otis Redding and Carla Thomas will be released the same day on gold-colored vinyl.

The next round of vinyl re-issues will be released on July 7 and includes: The Soul Album and The Great Otis Redding Sings Soul by Otis Redding, Double Dynamite by Sam & Dave, Carla by Carla Thomas, Hip Hug-Her by Booker T. & The M.G.’s and Born Under A Bad Sign by Albert King.

During its 15-year run, Stax released more than 800 singles and nearly 300 LPs, winning eight GRAMMY® Awards, plus an Academy Award along the way. The label placed more than 167 hit songs in the Top 100 pop charts, and a staggering 243 hits in the Top 100 R&B charts.

Track Listing

  1. “B-A-B-Y”
  2. “Tramp” – Otis Redding & Carla Thomas
  3. “Something Good (Is Going to Happen to You)”
  4. “I Like What You’re Doing (To Me)”
  5. “Cause I Love You” – Carla & Rufus
  6. “Let Me Be Good To You”
  7. “Comfort Me”
  8. “When Tomorrow Comes”
  9. “What Is Love?”
  10. “Pick Up the Pieces”
  11. “I’ve Got No Time to Lose”
  12. “I Play for Keeps”

Track Listing

  1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay”
  2. “These Arms of Mine”
  3. “Try a Little Tenderness”
  4. “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)”
  5. “Mr. Pitiful”
  6. “Respect”
  7. “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)”
  8. “Pain In My Heart”
  9. “Just One More Day”
  10. “That's How Strong My Love Is”
  11. “Security”
  12. “Satisfaction”

Track Listing

  1. “Hold On! I'm A Comin’”
  2. “Soul Man”
  3. “I Thank You”
  4. “Soothe Me”
  5. “When Something Is Wrong With My Baby”
  6. “You Don’t Know Like I Know”
  7. “Don’t Knock It”
  8. “I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down”
  9. “You Got Me Hummin’”
  10. “A Place Nobody Can Find”
  11. “Said I Wasn’t Gonna Tell Nobody”
  12. “I Take What I Want”

Track Listing

  1. “Green Onions”
  2. “Hip-Hug-Her”
  3. “Jellybread”
  4. “Time Is Tight”
  5. “Tic-Tac-Toe”
  6. “Boot-Leg”
  7. “Mo’ Onions”
  8. “Soul Dressing”
  9. “Groovin’”
  10. “Melting Pot”
  11. “Soul Limbo”
  12. “One Mint Julep”



# # #